Northern Ireland squad trimmed for Romania game

Liam Boyce finished the season strongly with Ross County
Liam Boyce finished the season strongly with Ross County

Northern Ireland's squad for the Euro 2016 qualifier against Romania has been reduced from 28 to 25 players with Liam Boyce among the trio left out.

The Ross County striker will miss the Windsor Park clash along with MK Dons midfielder Ben Reeves and Aberdeen forward Billy McKay.

Sheffield Wednesday striker Caolan Lavery received his first call-up to the senior panel last month.

NI go into the 13 June game just a point behind Group leaders Romania.

Michael O'Neill's team have made an excellent start to the campaign, winning four of their five qualifiers.

The crunch encounter with the Romanians is followed by an away game against the Faroe Islands and Belfast meetings with Hungary and Greece.

Northern Ireland complete the qualifiers with a trip to take on Finland on 11 October.

Lavery, who has played for NI U21s, had been handed his chance after impressing for the Owls late in the season.

Goalkeepers: Roy Carroll (Notts County), Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academicals), Trevor Carson (Cheltenham Town)

Defenders: Aaron Hughes (Unattached), Chris Baird, Gareth McAuley (both West Bromwich Albion), Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Shane Ferguson (Newcastle United), Daniel Lafferty (Burnley), Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), Luke McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), Paddy McNair (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Steve Davis (Southampton), Chris Brunt (West Bromwich Albion), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Oliver Norwood (Reading), Pat McCourt (Unattached), Stuart Dallas (Brentford)

Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Norwich City), Josh Magennis (Kilmarnock), Will Grigg (Brentford), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Jamie Ward (Unattached), Caolan Lavery (Sheffield Wednesday)

Top Stories