Republic of Ireland: Eunan O'Kane & Adam Rooney in squad

Adam Rooney has impressed Martin O'Neill with his goalscoring form
Adam Rooney has impressed Martin O'Neill with his goalscoring form

Uncapped pair Eunan O'Kane and Adam Rooney have been named in a reduced 28-man Republic of Ireland squad for the Euro 2016 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia in September.

Both made the cut as manager Martin O'Neill reduced his squad from the 37 he provisionally named for the matches.

O'Kane has enjoyed a fine start to Premier League life with Bournemouth.

Rooney has continued the goal-scoring form which saw him claim the SPL Golden Boot with Aberdeen last season.

Striker Kevin Doyle's form with Colorado Rapid in Major League Soccer is enough to earn him a recall to the squad.

O'Kane, who played for Northern Ireland at youth level, joined Torquay United from Irish League club Coleraine in 2010, before joining Bournemouth two years later.

The 25-year-old was named in the Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad for the first time in May 2012, after announcing the previous year that he was switching from Northern Ireland.

His Bournemouth team-mate Harry Arter is one of the those who has been cut from the extended squad.

Also among those left out were goalkeeping duo Kieren Westwood and Rob Elliot, along with Ipswich pair David McGoldrick and Daryl Murphy.

Centre-back Damien Delaney misses out despite impressing for Crystal Palace in the Premier League so far this season.

O'Neill's side, who lie fourth in Group D after six matches, travel to Portugal to play Gibraltar in Faro on 4 September, before hosting Georgia at the Aviva Stadium three days later.

A draw with Scotland in Dublin in June put a dent in their hopes of qualification for the finals in France, but O'Neill has not given up hope.

"If we come out of these games with six points, it will be interesting to see how the table stands," said the Republic manager.

Republic of Ireland squad: David Forde, Shay Given, Darren Randolph, Richard Keogh, Marc Wilson, Seamus Coleman, Cyrus Christie, John O'Shea, Alex Pearce, Ciaran Clark, Paul McShane, James McCarthy, Jeff Hendrick, Stephen Ward, Glenn Whelan, Eunan O'Kane, Aiden McGeady, James McClean, Robbie Brady, Anthony Pilkington, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler, Wes Hoolahan, Robbie Keane, Shane Long, Jon Walters, Kevin Doyle, Adam Rooney.