Caf Player of the Year: Toure in frame for fifth title

Yaya Toure
Toure joined Manchester City from Barcelona in 2010

Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure is in the frame to win a fifth straight African Player of the Year award.

Toure has been included on an initial list of 37 names for the Confederation of African Football's annual title, which will be announced on 22 December.

The Ivory Coast captain led his side to the Africa Cup of Nations title in February in Equatorial Guinea.

DR Congo keeper Robert Kidiaba is one four players also on a 24-man list for the Africa-based player of the year.

If Toure claims a fifth title he will overtake Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o, who has won the award four times.

Toure's international team-mates Gervinho, Max Gradel and Serge Aurier are the other names on the international list from the Nation Cup winning squad.

List of players nominated for Caf's African Player of the year award:

  • Ahmed Musa - CSKA Moscow (Russia) and Nigeria
  • Andre Ayew- Swansea City (England) and Ghana
  • Aymen Abdennour - Valencia (Spain) and Tunisia
  • Baghdad Bounedjah - Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) and Algeria
  • Bassem Morsi - Zamalek (Egypt) and Egypt
  • Chrisitian Atsu - Bournemouth (England) and Ghana
  • Dieumerci Mbokani - Norwich City (England) and DR Congo
  • El Arbi Soudani - Dynamo Zagreb (Croatia) and Algeria
  • Faouzi Ghoulam - Napoli (Italy) and Algeria
  • Ferebory Dore - Angers (France) and Congo
  • Gervinho - Roma (Italy) and Ivory Coast
  • Ibrahima Traore - B Monchengladbach (Germany) and Guinea
  • Javier Balboa - Al Faisaly (Saudi Arabia) and Equatorial Guinea
  • Heldon Ramos - Rio Ave (Portugal) and Cape Verde
  • Mame Biram Diouf - Stoke City (England) and Senegal
  • Max Gradel - Bournemouth (England) Ivory Coast
  • Mehdi Benatia - Bayern Munich (Germany) and Morocco
  • Mudather El Tahir 'Careca' - Al Hilal (Sudan) and Sudan
  • Mohamed Salah - Roma (Italy) and Egypt
  • Nicolas Nkoulou - Marseille (France) and Cameroon
  • P-Emerick Aubameyang - B Dortmund (Germany) and Gabon
  • Robert Kidiaba - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and DR Congo
  • Rudy Gestede - Aston Villa (England) and Benin
  • Riyad Mahrez - Leicester City (England) and Algeria
  • Sadio Mane - Southampton (England) and Senegal
  • Serge Aurier - Paris St Germain (France) and Ivory Coast
  • Seydou Keita - Roma (Italy) and Mali
  • Sofiane Feghouli - Valencia (Spain) and Algeria
  • Stephane Mbia - Trabzonspor (Turkey) and Cameroon
  • Thievy Bifouma - Granada (Spain) and Congo
  • Victor Wanyama - Southampton (England) and Kenya
  • Vincent Aboubakar - Porto (Portugal) and Cameroon
  • Vincent Enyeama - Lille (France) and Nigeria
  • Yacine Brahimi - Porto (Portugal) and Algeria
  • Yannick Bolasie - Crystal Palace (England) and DR Congo
  • Yasine Chikhaoui - Al Gharafa (Qatar) and Tunisia
  • Yaya Toure - Manchester City (England) and Ivory Coast

List of players nominated for Caf's Africa-Based Player of the year award:

  • Abdeladim Khadrouf - Moghreb Tetouan and Morocco
  • Abdelmalek Ziaya - Entente Setif and Algeria
  • Ahmed Akaichi - Etoile du Sahel and Tunisia
  • A. Carolus - USM Algers (Algeria) and Madagascar
  • Baghdd Bounedjah - Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) and Algeria
  • Bakri El Madina - Al Merriekh and Sudan
  • Bassem Morsi - Zamalek and Egypt
  • Boris Moubhio - AC Leopards and Congo
  • Djigui Diarra - Stade Malien and Mali
  • Felipe Ovono - Orlando Pirates (South Africa) and Eq Guinea
  • Sylvain Gbohouo - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Ivory Coast
  • Hazem Emam - Zamalek and Egypt
  • Hocine Ragued - Esperance and Tunisia
  • Kermit Erasmus - Orlando Pirates and South Africa
  • Malick Evouna - Al Ahly (Egypt) and Gabon
  • Mbwana Samatta - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Tanzania
  • Mohamed Koffi - Zamalek (Egypt) and Burkina Faso
  • Mohamed Meftah - USM Algers and Algeria
  • Mudather El Tahir 'Careca' - Al Hilal and Sudan
  • Oupa Manyisa - Orlando Pirates and South Africa
  • Robert Kidiaba - TP Mazembe and DR Congo
  • Roger Assale - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Ivory Coast
  • Thamsanqa Gabuza - Orlando Pirates and South Africa
  • Zein Edin Farahat - USM Algers and Algeria

Top Stories