Sunderland boss Sam Allardyce says the rule that sees a player sent off after conceding a penalty should be changed.
His side benefited from Robert Madley's decision to award them a spot-kick and show Fabricio Coloccini red for a push on Steven Fletcher in the 3-0 win over Newcastle.
"It's the rules sadly. I think a penalty is enough," he told BBC Sport.
"It's a foul and only a penalty. Our fans wouldn't agree but as a football man I'd like to see the rule changed."
With 44 minutes of the match played, referee Madley judged the Magpies' Argentine centre-back to have illegally shoulder-charged the Black Cats striker, who was deemed to have been denied a scoring opportunity. Adam Johnson converted the resulting penalty.
The home side, who were a clear second best up to that point, extended their lead after the break through Billy Jones, before Fletcher sealed victory with a late third.
|Fifa law 12: Fouls and misconduct|
|Sending-off offences: Denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity to an opponent moving towards the player's goal by an offence punishable by a free-kick or a penalty kick.|
Allardyce, who has previously stated his desire for the rules to be amended, said his side made the most of the break just before half-time.
"We've carried that precious piece of history on - the fourth manager to beat Newcastle in their second game as Sunderland boss," he said, with his side moving into 18th in the Premier League, a place above Newcastle on goal difference.
"This was quite an achievement considering the low ebb we're at at the moment - facing a rival with the extra pressure of having won the last five derbies.
"Everyone's done a job, the players on the pitch and me, tactically setting them out. We had some good fortune for the first goal and we took advantage of it. It's the first good weekend the fans have had this season.
"It's a big victory and we can all look forward to next week. Hopefully this is the start of us getting out of trouble."
Newcastle manager Steve McClaren said the penalty and red card were a "double whammy" and that 3-0 was not a fair reflection of the game.
"We were the better side by a distance," he said.
"The defining moments were two referee decisions he got wrong. Gini Wijnaldum's flick in the first half was handballed by Lee Cattermole and the penalty for them was never a penalty. The penalty and red card were a double whammy."