Netherlands drop Memphis Depay and Robin van Persie for Wales

Memphis Depay
Memphis Depay has won 20 caps for Netherlands, scoring three goals
Friendly international: Wales v Netherlands
Venue: Cardiff City Stadium Date: Friday, 13 November Kick-off: 19:45 BST
Coverage: Live on BBC Two Wales and online, BBC Radio Wales, Radio Cymru plus live text commentary on the BBC Sport website.

Netherlands have left Memphis Depay and Robin van Persie out of their squad to face Wales in a friendly at Cardiff City Stadium on 13 November.

Manchester United forward Depay, 21, has four goals in 19 games for club and country this season, while Fenerbahce striker van Persie, 32, has five in 16.

Netherlands boss Danny Blind said of Depay, who joined United in a £31m deal: "In football you must function in a team. He doesn't always do that.

"That's something he has to learn."

Netherlands, who failed to qualify for Euro 2016 after finishing fourth in their group, have recalled captain Arjen Robben after he recovered from a thigh injury.

Wales have qualified for next summer's competition in France, their first major tournament since the 1958 World Cup.

Depay has struggled to secure a regular place in United's first team since joining from PSV Eindhoven in June.

Red Devils boss Louis van Gaal said on Monday: "I have said he is the greatest talent of his age but he is only 21 and you cannot expect consistency.

"He is at a stage of his career where he must adapt to many things. I'm convinced he's coming back maybe stronger than before but we have to give him time."

Former United and Arsenal striker Van Persie, meanwhile, is Netherlands' all-time top scorer with 50 goals in 101 appearances.

But Blind said: "I don't think he's playing well."

Netherlands squad to face Wales:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Maarten Stekelenburg (Southampton), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord), Jeroen Zoet (PSV).

Defenders: Jeffrey Bruma (PSV), Virgil van Dijk (Southampton), Daryl Janmaat (Newcastle United), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Karim Rekik (Marseille), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax), Kenny Tete (Ajax), Joel Veltman (Ajax).

Midfielders: Daley Blind (Manchester United), Vurnon Anita (Newcastle United), Jordy Clasie (Southampton), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Marko Vejinovic (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum (Newcastle United).

Forwards: Bas Dost (Wolfsburg), Eljero Elia (Feyenoord), Anwar El Ghazi (Ajax), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich).