Republic of Ireland: John O'Shea & Shane Long stay in play-off squad

Shane Long and John O'Shea
John O'Shea (r) and Shane Long are both in danger of missing the Republic's play-off games against Bosnia-Herzgovina

John O'Shea and Shane Long remain in the Republic of Ireland squad for the Euro 2016 play-off with Bosnia-Herzegovina despite being major doubts.

O'Shea, 34, is banned for Friday's first leg in Zenica and may miss the second leg with a hamstring injury.

Long, 28, who has an ankle injury, also stays in Martin O'Neill's squad, which was reduced to 30 on Sunday evening.

Injured duo Shay Given and David McGoldrick are among nine men to drop out from the original extended squad.

Veteran Stoke keeper Given, 39, is still not fit after picking up a knee injury in the Republic's shock qualifier win over Germany in October while Ipswich striker McGoldrick, 27, has a groin problem.

Preston defender Greg Cunningham is cut from the squad along with Bournemouth midfielder Eunan O'Kane, Rotherham's Paul Green, Cardiff's Anthony Pilkington plus strikers Anthony Stokes, Adam Rooney and Simon Cox.

Newcastle goalkeeper Rob Elliot, Reading defender Paul McShane and Brentford midfielder Alan Judge have minor injuries and will be assessed by their clubs in the early part of the week.

Allardyce convinced O'Shea will be unfit for second leg

Sunderland boss Sam Allardyce indicated on Saturday he was certain Sunderland defender O'Shea would be unfit for the play-off second leg on 16 November after missing his club's defeat by Southampton.

"He's not going to get fit in 10 days with a hamstring injury," said the Sunderland boss.

"He will be talking to them - the Republic - but I wouldn't have thought that, with the recurrence in his hamstring, he would be anywhere near available."

O'Shea, who has 108 Republic caps, has not played since damaging his hamstring in the 3-0 derby win over Newcastle on 25 October.

Southampton's Long was also not deemed fit enough to play for his club in Saturday's game against Sunderland.

Updated Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: David Forde (Millwall), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United).

Defenders: Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby County), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Reading), Stephen Ward (Burnley).

Midfielders: Robbie Brady (Norwich City), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Darron Gibson (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Judge (Brentford), David Meyler (Hull City), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City).

Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids).