Caf Awards: Yaya Toure in running for a fifth crown

Yaya Toure

The Confederation of African Football (Caf) has named the final three for its 2015 Player of the Year award.

Ivory Coast's Yaya Toure could be the first man to win the accolade five times.

The Manchester City star is up against Ghana and Swansea's Andre 'Dede' Ayew and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund.

The winner is chosen by head coaches of the FA's affiliated to Caf and ‎will be announced at a gala on 7 January.

Caf named an original list of 37 players in Octoberexternal-link before cutting it down to ten last month.

Toure, who captained Ivory Coast to the Africa Cup of Nations title in January, has won the award for the last four years and was named the BBC's 2015 African Player of the Year last week.

Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o is the only other player to have been crowned the best on the continent four times by Caf, winning in 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010.

Caf has also released the final three names for the Africa-Based Player of the Year; Baghdad Bounedjah of Algeria and Etoile du Sahel as well as the TP Mazembe duo of Tanzania's Mbwana Samatta and the DR Congo goalkeeper Robert Kidiaba.

Nominees for other 2015 Caf Awards:

Women's Player of the Year:

  • Gabrielle Onguéné - Cameroon
  • Gaelle Enganamouit - Cameroon
  • Ngozi Ebere - Nigeria
  • N'rehy Tia Ines - Ivory Coast
  • Portia Boakye - Ghana

Youth Player of the Year:

  • Adama Traore - Mali
  • Kelechi Nwakali - Nigeria
  • Samuel Diarra - Mali
  • Victor Osimhen - Nigeria
  • Yaw Yeboah - Ghana

Most Promising Talent:

  • Azubuike Okechukwu - Nigeria
  • Etebo Oghenekaro - Nigeria
  • Djigui Diarra - Mali
  • Mahmoud 'Kahraba' Abdelmonem - Egypt
  • Zinedine Ferhat - Algeria

Coach of the Year:

  • Baye Ba - Mali Under-17
  • Emmanuel Amunike - Nigeria Under-17
  • Fawzi Benzarti - Etoile du Sahel
  • Hervé Renard - Ivory Coast
  • Patrice Carteron - TP Mazembe

Referee of the Year:

  • Alioum Neant - Cameroon
  • Bakary Papa Gassama - The Gambia
  • Eric Arnaud Otogo Castane - Gabon
  • Ghead Zaglol Grisha - Egypt
  • Janny Sikazwe - Zambia

African Legend:

  • CK Gyamfi - Ghana
  • Samuel Mbappé Léppé - Cameroon

National Team of the Year:

  • Ivory Coast
  • Ghana
  • Mali Under-17
  • Nigeria Under-17
  • Nigeria Under-23

Women's National Team of the Year:

  • Ghana
  • Cameroon
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Club of the Year:

  • USM Algers - Algeria
  • TP Mazembe - DR Congo
  • Orlando Pirates - South Africa
  • Etoile du Sahel - Tunisia