Football League Awards: Judge, Gray & McCormack battle for Championship prize

Alan Judge, Andre Gray, Ross McCormack
Alan Judge, Andre Gray and Ross McCormack were nominated by the 24 Championship managers

Brentford midfielder Alan Judge, Burnley striker Andre Gray and Fulham forward Ross McCormack have been nominated for the Football League's Championship player of the year award.

Gray, 24, has scored 23 league goals this season - 21 of them coming since a £9m move from Brentford in August.

McCormack, 29, has netted 21 times in the Championship for struggling Fulham.

Judge, 27, scored 14 goals in 38 league games for Brentford before suffering a season-ending injury on Saturday.

The Republic of Ireland international broke his leg in the win at Ipswich, which will rule him out of Euro 2016 in France this summer.

"It has been Alan's most productive season and he has been talismanic for us," Brentford head coach Dean Smith told BBC Radio London.

"I am really pleased he has been recognised for what he has been doing. It is going to be hard for whoever has to pick between those three players.

"Whoever wins it is going to deserve it."

The Football League Awards ceremony will be held in Manchester on Sunday.

Player of the Year shortlists

Championship Player of the Year: Andre Gray (Burnley), Alan Judge (Brentford), Ross McCormack (Fulham)

League One Player of the Year: Nicky Ajose (Swindon), Bradley Dack (Gillingham), Romaine Sawyers (Walsall)

League Two Player of the Year: Ricky Holmes (Northampton), Kemar Roofe (Oxford), Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers)

Young Player of the Year: Lewis Cook (Leeds), Moussa Dembele (Fulham), Rico Henry (Walsall)

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC