PFA awards: Leicester and Spurs dominate Premier League team

Team of the year

Leicester and Tottenham have provided eight players between them for the Professional Footballers' Association Premier League Team of the Year.

Jamie Vardy is one of a quartet of players from league leaders Leicester, while Premier League top scorer Harry Kane is one of four men from Spurs.

Arsenal midfielder Mesut Ozil, a PFA Player of the Year nominee, misses out.

Women's Super League 1 champions Chelsea have three players in the WSL 1 Team of the Year.

The PFA had planned to reveal the team at its annual awards ceremony on Sunday but said it was forced to publish early because the details were leaked.

It blamed a member of the public for choosing "to deliberately leak our representative teams from the official brochure of the awards evening".

The players' representative body added: "As a matter of urgency, we are seeking a detailed explanation from the brochure printers as to how they were able to secure a copy of the publication."

Kane has scored 24 league goals this season for Tottenham, who are five points behind Leicester with four games remaining.

As well as Vardy, Wes Morgan, N'Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez are included from Leicester while Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose and Dele Alli join Kane from Tottenham.

Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin and West Ham's Dimitri Payet make up the rest of the team.

The PFA awards evening takes place on Sunday 24 April, when the PFA Player of the Year will be announced. Vardy, Kane, Mahrez, Kane, Ozil and Payet are on the shortlist for that award.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year
David De GeaDavid de Gea has kept more clean sheets this season than in any other previous Premier League campaign (14).
Danny RoseOnly Charlie Daniels (5) and Hector Bellerin (4) have supplied more assists among defenders than Rose (3) this season.
Toby AlderweireldOnly Scott Dann (5) has contributed more goals to his side among defenders than Alderweireld (4) this season.
Wes MorganThe Leicester captain has made more blocks (34) than any other member of the Foxes' team this season.
Hector BellerinOnly Mesut Ozil (18) has supplied more assists for Arsenal than Bellerin (four) this season.
Dimitri PayetDimitri Payet has had a hand in 18 league goals this season for West Ham, eight more than any other player - nine goals, nine assists (Carroll next on 10).
N'Golo Kante Kante has made more tackles (149) than any other player in the PL this season.
Dele AlliEight of Dele Alli's 10 Premier League goals have come away from home.
Riyad MahrezOnly Jamie Vardy (28) has been directly involved in more goals than Mahrez (27 - 16 goals, 11 assists) this season.
Harry KaneHarry Kane (24) has scored more Premier League goals than Aston Villa this season.
Jamie VardyJamie Vardy's goals (22) have won Leicester 21 points in the Premier League, more than any other player for any team.
Statistics supplied by Opta

WSL 1 Team of the Year


Chelsea's three players in the WSL 1 Team of the Year are goalkeeper Hedvig Lindahl, defender Niamh Fahey and winger Ji So-yun.

Runners-up Manchester City also have three members of their squad in the team with defender Lucy Bronze and midfield duo Jill Scott and Isobel Christiansen included.

Full team: Hedvig Lindahl (Chelsea); Lucy Bronze (Man City), Casey Stoney (Arsenal), Niamh Fahey (Chelsea), Alex Greenwood (Notts County, now Liverpool); Ji So-yun (Chelsea), Vicky Losada (Arsenal), Jill Scott (Man City), Isobel Christiansen (Chelsea); Beth Mead (Sunderland), Danielle Carter (Arsenal).

Championship Team of the Year

Championship team

Burnley, battling for promotion to the Premier League, have four players in the Championship Team of the Year.

Goalkeeper Tom Heaton, defender Michael Keane, midfielder Joey Barton and striker Andre Gray represent the team that is currently second in the league.

Leaders Middlesbrough have two-and-a-half players included, with defender Daniel Ayala sharing his position with Hull's Michael Dawson.

Full team: Tom Heaton (Burnley); Bruno Saltor (Brighton), Daniel Ayala/Michael Dawson (Middlesbrough/Hull), Michael Keane (Burnley), George Friend (Middlesbrough); Adam Clayton (Middlesbrough), Alan Judge (Brentford), Joey Barton (Burnley), Barry Bannan (Sheff Wed); Andre Gray (Burnley), Ross McCormack (Fulham).

League One Team of the Year

League One

League One leaders Wigan have four players in the League One Team of the Year, with Reece Wabara, Craig Morgan, Yanic Wildschut and Will Grigg included.

Full team: Jon McLaughlin (Bradford); Reece Wabara (Wigan), John Egan (Gillingham), Craig Morgan (Wigan), Rico Henry (Walsall); Yanic Wildschut (Wigan), Bradley Dack (Gillingham), Romaine Sawyers (Walsall), Mark Duffy (Burton); Will Grigg (Wigan), Adam Armstrong (Coventry).

League Two Team of the Year

League Two

League One champions Northampton have three inclusions in the division's Team of the Year.

Full team: Adam Smith (Northampton); George Baldock (Oxford), Curtis Nelson (Plymouth), Aaron Pierre (Wycombe), Joe Jacobson (Wycombe); Ricky Holmes (Northampton), John-Joe O'Toole (Northampton), Matt Crooks (Accrington), Kemar Roofe (Oxford); Jay Simpson (Leyton Orient), Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers).

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC