Leigh Griffiths: Celtic forward named PFA Scotland Player of the Year

Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths
Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths has scored 39 goals this season

Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths has been named the Professional Footballer's Association of Scotland Player of the Year.

The Scotland forward has scored 39 goals this season to lead Ronny Deila's side to the brink of retaining the Premiership title.

Team-mate Kieran Tierney won the Young Player of the Year award.

Mark Warburton was named manager of the year on a night when Rangers won three awards.

Ibrox captain Lee Wallace was also named Championship player of the year, while Barrie McKay's strike against Celtic in the Scottish Cup semi-final was voted goal of the season.

Dunfermline's Moroccan forward Faissal el Bakhtaoui won the League One award, while East Fife's Nathan Austin was player of the year for League Two.

Player of the Year - Leigh Griffiths

Griffiths held off competition from Aberdeen winger Jonny Hayes, and Dundee duo Kane Hemmings and Greg Stewart.

He was given his prize at the Glasgow Hilton hotel a day after he scored the third goal in Celtic's 3-1 win over Hearts at Tynecastle, which all but sealed the league title for a fifth time in a row.

Celtic need just a point from their final three games to be crowned champions.

Young Player of the Year - Kieran Tierney

Kieran Tierney (right) and Stiliyan Petrov
Kieran Tierney (right) was presented his award by former Celtic midfielder Stiliyan Petrov

Left-back Tierney, 18, has been one of the stand outs for Celtic this season with 32 appearances.

He also made his Scotland debut in a 1-0 win over Denmark in March.

Manager of the Year - Mark Warburton

Rangers manager Warburton beat off competition from Ross County's Jim McIntyre, fellow Championship boss Peter Houston, and Peterhead's Jim McInally.

The Englishman took over at Ibrox last summer, leading Rangers to promotion to the Premiership and to the Petrofac Training Cup.

The former Brentford manager could also add the Scottish Cup to his list of honours should they defeat Hibernian at Hampden on 21 May.