Jamie Vardy: Leicester striker wins writers' Footballer of the Year award

Jamie Vardy
Jamie Vardy joined Leicester City from Fleetwood Town in May 2012

Leicester striker Jamie Vardy has been chosen as the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year.

The England forward got 36% of the vote from 290 journalists, ahead of team-mates Riyad Mahrez and N'Golo Kante.

Vardy, 29, has scored 22 Premier League goals this season, including netting in a league record 11 games in a row.

The Foxes need two more points to guarantee their first top-flight title and will win it on Monday if Tottenham fail to beat Chelsea.

Leicester forward Mahrez won the the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award last month.

The BBC's chief football writer revealed where his vote went
The BBC's chief football writer revealed where his vote went

The last time two different players from the same club won both awards was 2004-05 when Chelsea's John Terry (PFA) and Frank Lampard (FWA) were the winners.

Vardy will return from a two-game ban against Everton on Saturday 7 May, having been sent off for diving against West Ham and accepting a charge of improper conduct for verbally abusing referee Jon Moss.

Team-mate Danny Drinkwater is suspended for the Everton game following his sending off in Leicester's 1-1 draw at Old Trafford on Sunday.

However, the Football Association will not be taking any further action against Drinkwater. It had been suggested in some reportsexternal-link that he appeared to swear at referee Michael Oliver before leaving the field in the 87th minute and could face further sanction.

Top Stories