Muratti Vase 2016: Jersey and Guernsey name squads for 100th final

Jersey celebrate
Jersey won the Muratti Vase last year for the first time since 2011

Jersey and Guernsey have named their squads for the 100th Muratti Vase final at Springfield on Saturday.

Brian Little has left Jersey Combination player of the year Kieran Lester and fellow striker Daryl Wilson out of his squad for the game.

"We strongly believe we have a team capable of winning the 100th Muratti," said Jersey assistant Martin Cassidy.

River Marsh and keeper Josh Addison are the only two non-Guernsey FC players to be picked for the Sarnians.

There is no place for Tom Strawbridge in Steve Sharman's 18-man Guernsey squad, while Marsh and Tom Martin could make their first Muratti starts as they look to win back the trophy.

"A year is a long time to wait after one of the toughest days as a coach and for the players," added Sharman.

"We didn't perform, we let ourselves and the Island down and that is what is driving us this year."

Jersey squad: Euan Van Der Vliet, Ryan Le Couteur, Jose Figueira, Stuart Andre, ‎Calvin Weir, Luke Campbell, Jay Giles, James Scott, Mark Logue, Max Thompson, Michael Weir, Jack Cannon, Luke Watson, Cavaghn Miley, Jake Baker, Craig Russell, Adam Trotter, Karl Hinds.

Guernsey squad: Chris Tardif, Josh Addison, Simon Geall, Sam Cochrane (capt), Jamie Dodd, Tom Martin, Dave Rihoy, Alex Le Prevost, Angus Mackay, Craig Young, Dom Heaume, Ross Allen, Glyn Dyer, Ryan Zico Black, Matt Loaring, River Marsh, Marc McGrath, Tom De La Mare.