Euro 2016: Republic of Ireland captain Robbie Keane selected

Robbie Keane
Striker Robbie Keane has 67 goals in 143 caps for the Republic of Ireland

Captain Robbie Keane has been selected in the Republic of Ireland squad for Euro 2016 but midfielder Harry Arter will miss out with a thigh injury.

Striker Keane, 35, sustained a calf injury in training last Saturday and missed his side's final warm-up game - a 2-1 loss to Belarus on Tuesday night.

Everton midfielder James McCarthy makes Martin O'Neill's 23-man squad despite his ongoing thigh injury.

Bournemouth player Arter, 26, left the team's training camp in Cork on Monday.

Sheffield Wednesday's Keiren Westwood edges out Millwall's David Forde for one of the goalkeeper slots alongside Darren Randolph and Shay Given.

Forde started the qualifying campaign as first-choice keeper but a combination of 40-year-old Given's return to international football and losing his place at club level, has led to the Millwall keeper losing out.

Forde decision difficult - O'Neill

LA Galaxy forward Keane, who has been capped 143 times by his country, was a major doubt after suffering a problem at the weekend, but is deemed fit enough for the tournament.

Winger Aiden McGeady makes the squad, despite playing on loan at Championship side Sheffield Wednesday for the second half of the season, and missing out on a place in the play-off final squad.

With Arter missing, Hull's David Meyler edges Bournemouth's Eunan O'Kane for the final midfield slot with Reading's Stephen Quinn also included.

Everton's Darron Gibson is not picked and neither is Colorado Rapids frontman Kevin Doyle.

The Republic of Ireland are in Group E, along with Belgium, Italy and Sweden.

Ireland qualified for the finals for the third time by beating Bosnia-Herzegovina in a play-off in November.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham), Shay Given (Stoke), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Derby), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Richard Keogh (Derby), Shane Duffy (Blackburn), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: James McClean (West Brom), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Stephen Quinn (Reading), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), David Meyler (Hull City), Robbie Brady (Norwich), Aiden McGeady (Everton)

Forwards: Jon Walters (Stoke), Shane Long (Southampton), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich)

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC