Euro 2016 finals: How Scotland's clubs will benefit

By Richard WilsonBBC Scotland
Celtic's Mikael Lustig (left) in action for Sweden against Denmark
Celtic's Mikael Lustig (left) will be the only Scottish-based player to play at the last two Euro finals
Euro 2016
Host: France Dates: 10 June to 10 July
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC TV, BBC Radio, the BBC Sport website and app. Live text commentary on every game on BBC Sport website.

Scottish football is restricted to arm's-length participation in Euro 2016.

With the national team having failed to qualify, local interest is contained to players from Scottish Premiership clubs who will travel to France.

The squads of the competing 24 nations have now been finalised. A handful of Scottish-based players missed out - in particular, Celtic and Belgium defender Dedryck Boyata, through injury, Northern Ireland duo Liam Boyce, of Ross County, Billy Mckay, who spent much of the season on loan at Dundee United from Wigan Athletic, and Aberdeen and Republic of Ireland winger Jonny Hayes.

Six players from the Premiership will compete in the finals, though, the same number as for Euro 2000 and the highest since Scotland last qualified, at Euro 96.

Euro 2016 players from Scottish clubs
Owain Fon Williams, goalkeeper, Wales and Inverness Caledonian Thistle; Michael McGovern, goalkeeper, Northern Ireland and Hamilton Academical; Alan Mannus, goalkeeper, Northern Ireland and St Johnstone; Mikael Lustig, defender, Sweden and Celtic; Niall McGinn, forward, Northern Ireland and Aberdeen; Josh Magennis, forward, Northern Ireland and Kilmarnock.

It is galling for the national team that the other three home nations qualified, but there is at least financial consolation for some Scottish clubs.

Every club that released a player for the qualifying campaign and every team that releases players for the finals will receive payments after the European Club Association and Uefa signed a memorandum of understanding in 2012.

Michael McGovern and Alan Mannus at Northern Ireland training
Northern Ireland's Michael McGovern and Alan Mannus will be two of three Scottish-based keepers at Euro 2016

That agreement will result in £115m from Uefa's total Euro 2016 revenues set aside to pay clubs for the release of players, with £38m split between clubs who released players for the qualifying campaign and £77m split between those that release players for the finals.

After Euro 2012, a total of £77m was split between 575 clubs across the continent and the distribution mechanism will be the same following this summer's tournament.

Euro 2012 players from Scottish clubs
Darren O'Dea, defender, Republic of Ireland and Celtic; Mikael Lustig, defender, Sweden and Celtic; Georgios Samaras, forward, Greece and Celtic.

Leagues are split into three categories based on the level of wages players receive. Category One clubs come from countries such as England, Spain, France, Germany and Italy, while Scotland was ranked in Category Two for Euro 2012.

In the Premiership, Inverness Caledonian Thistle (Owain Fon Williams of Wales), Hamilton Academical (Michael McGovern of Northern Ireland), St Johnstone (Alan Mannus of Northern Ireland), Aberdeen (Niall McGinn of Northern Ireland), Kilmarnock (Josh Magennis of Northern Ireland) and Celtic (Mikael Lustig of Sweden) will all be eligible for payments for players who have been selected for the finals.

The amount - which will be finalised after the tournament - is based upon a fixed amount per day that the player is involved in the squad, beginning 14 days before the first match and lasting until the day after the final match the team plays at the tournament.

Euro 2008 players from Scottish clubs
Artur Boruc, goalkeeper, Poland and Celtic; Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink, forward, Netherlands and Celtic; Marius Niculae, forward, Romania and Inverness Caledonian Thistle.

After Euro 2012, Category One clubs received £5,220 per day, per player, Category Two clubs £3,480 and Category Three clubs £1,740.

Based on the 2012 figures, a Scottish club would receive £83,520 for a player whose country is knocked out in the group stages.

If a player is injured before the first game, and so eligible to be replaced, payment to his club will be made based on the number of days he was involved during the two weeks before the first match. The payment for the replacement player is based on how many days he is involved until the day after the final match of his country's involvement.

A player injured after the first game cannot be replaced, so his club receives the full payment.

Euro 2004 players from Scottish clubs
Johan Mjallby, defender, Sweden and Celtic; Frank de Boer, defender, Netherlands and Rangers; Stilyan Petrov, midfielder, Bulgaria and Celtic; Peter Lovenkrands, forward, Denmark and Rangers; Henrik Larsson, forward, Sweden and Celtic.

Scottish clubs will also benefit from players' involvement in the qualifying campaign, covering the two seasons prior to the finals. Again, it is based on a fixed amount per game and applies to all 23 players listed on the official Uefa match sheet.

Peter Lovenkrands in action for Denmark
Rangers last had a player at the Euro finals in 2004, when Peter Lovenkrands was with Denmark

For clubs whose players represented countries that played in 10 qualifying ties (as Scotland did), the payment is estimated to be £3,073 per player, per game. For clubs whose players represented countries that reached the play-offs and so featured in 12 ties, the payment is estimated to be £2,612 per player, per game.

As was the case following Euro 2012, the clubs compensated will be those the player was representing at the time, so if a player was on loan at a Scottish club during the qualifying campaign, it will be they rather than the parent club who will receive the payment.

The compensation will be welcome for Scottish clubs, but will not balance out the nation's angst at missing out.

Euro 2000 players from Scottish clubs
Johan Mjallby, defender, Sweden and Celtic; Vidar Riseth, defender, Norway and Celtic; Giovanni van Bronckhorst, defender, Netherlands and Rangers; Arthur Numan, defender, Netherlands and Rangers; Tugay Kerimoglu, midfielder, Turkey and Rangers; Henrik Larsson, forward, Sweden and Celtic.

It is heartening for the game, to an extent, that the players going to Euro 2016 come from a spread of clubs, since all three involved at Euro 2012 came from Celtic.

Celtic also provided two of the three players involved in Euro 2008, with Caley Thistle having Marius Niculae of Romania.

The figures are relatively stable, since apart from the Scotland players, the Scottish game provided five players at the finals in England 20 years ago.

Euro 1996 players from Scottish clubs
Paul Gascogine, midfielder, England and Rangers; Ilian Kiriakov, midfielder, Bulgaria and Aberdeen; Brian Laudrup, midfielder, Denmark and Rangers; Jorge Cadete, forward, Portugal and Celtic; Erik Bo Andersen, forward, Denmark and Rangers.Scotland (half the squad home-based): Jim Leighton, goalkeeper (Hibernian); Andy Goram, goalkeeper (Rangers); Nicky Walker, goalkeeper (Partick Thistle); Stewart McKimmie, defender (Aberdeen); Tosh McKinlay, defender (Celtic); Tom Boyd, defender (Celtic); Stuart McCall, midfielder (Rangers); Ally McCoist, forward (Rangers); Gordon Durie, forward (Rangers); Darren Jackson, forward (Hibernian); Scott Booth, forward (Aberdeen).

Top Stories