Copa America 2016: Brazil missing key players for 100th anniversary

Chile's players celebrate winning the 2015 Copa America
Chile won the 2015 Copa America after beating Argentina on penalties in the final

Neymar, Rafinha and Kaka will all be missing for Brazil as they attempt to win a ninth Copa America when the 2016 edition starts this weekend.

Sixteen teams will compete in the 100th anniversary of football's oldest international championship, hosted by the United States for the first time.

Holders Chile start against Argentina, who have Lionel Messi in their squad, on Tuesday, 7 June (03:00 BST).

Colombia beat the United States 2-0 in the first game on Friday evening.

Who's taking part?
Group A: United States, Colombia, Costa Rica, Paraguay
Group B: Brazil, Ecuador, Haiti, Peru
Group C: Mexico, Uruguay, Jamaica, Venezuela
Group D: Argentina, Chile, Panama, Bolivia

Five-time world champions Brazil, who have not won Copa America since 2007, face Ecuador in their first group game on Sunday (03:00 BST).

Barcelona forward Neymar is not playing as he prepares to represent his country at the Rio Olympics in August.

His club team-mate Rafinha, 23, is ruled out with a muscle injury while fellow midfielder Kaka, 34, is also on the treatment table.

Copa America 2016 fixtures and kick-off times

Juan Carlos Osorio: Coaching Mexico is the toughest job in football

Messi is linking up with 14-time winners Argentina after his court case for alleged tax fraud in Spain while Uruguay, who have won the tournament a record 15 times, hope Luis Suarez will feature despite the former Liverpool player suffering a hamstring injury last month.

The 2016 edition has been expanded by four teams and is being staged outside the South American Football Confederation for the first time.

The final is at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, on 27 June (01:00 BST).

Top Stories