Seven nations set for women's Cecafa Cup

Uganda flag

Seven countries, including hosts Uganda, will compete at the 2016 Cecafa Women's Championship in September.

Kenya, Burundi, Zanzibar, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Rwanda are the other participants, as confirmed by the Council for East and Central African Football Associations during a launch at the Uganda FA headquarters in Kampala.

Cecafa secretary general Nicholas Musonye said it had hoped to have one guest team from Southern Africa but failed.

Uganda Football Association president Eng. Moses Magogo said: "We are excited to be hosting the Championship. This is an extended programme to the strategy we took to develop women football in the country and across the region."

The tournament takes place from 11 to 20 September in the industrial town of Jinja, with Burundi and Zanzibar featuring in the first match.

Group A: Uganda, Kenya, Burundi, Zanzibar

Group B: Ethiopia, Tanzania, Rwanda.

Top Stories