Germany v England: Manuel Neuer ruled out with calf injury

Manuel Neuer
Bayern Munich keeper Manuel Neuer has won 74 caps for Germany

Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer is out of Wednesday's friendly against England due to a calf injury.

Uncapped Paris St-Germain keeper Kevin Trapp, 26, has replaced the 30-year-old Bayern Munich star.

Four Premier League players are in head coach Joachim Low's 24-man squad.

Arsenal's Mesut Ozil and Shkodran Mustafi are included for the match in Dortmund, as are Manchester City forward Leroy Sane and Liverpool midfielder Emre Can.

"Games against England are absolute classics, and in front of brilliant fans in Dortmund," said Low.

Ex-Arsenal forward Lukas Podolski is set to win his final Germany cap.

The 31-year-old has played 129 times for his country since making his debut in 2004, and announced his retirement after last year's European Championship.

RB Leipzig's Timo Werner, 21, is named in the Germany squad for the first time.

Germany face Azerbaijan in a World Cup qualifier four days after the match against England, who have recalled Jermain Defoe.

Germany squad:

Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Paris St-Germain).

Defenders: Jonas Hector (Cologne), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Antonio Rudiger (Roma), Niklas Sule (Hoffenheim).

Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Emre Can (Liverpool), Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund)

Forwards: Timo Werner (Leipzig), Andre Schurrle (Borussia Dortmund), Mario Gomez (Wolfsburg), Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray).

England squad:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Torino, on loan from Man City), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Man Utd), Michael Keane (Burnley), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), Chris Smalling (Man Utd), John Stones (Man City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham), Michail Antonio (West Ham), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Man Utd), Jake Livermore (West Brom), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Nathan Redmond (Southampton), Raheem Sterling (Man City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Strikers: Jermain Defoe (Sunderland), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Jamie Vardy (Leicester).

Top Stories