Welsh Cup - Final
Bala Town2New Saints1

Welsh Cup final: Bala Town 2-1 The New Saints

Media playback is not supported on this device


Bala Town came from behind to shock holders The New Saints and win the Welsh Cup for the first time.

Saints were on course for a third successive domestic treble after Greg Draper's close-range goal in the second half at the Bangor University Stadium.

But substitute Jordan Evans brought Bala level before Kieran Smith's late winner secured a historic victory.

Colin Caton's side, playing their first Welsh Cup final, had not beaten six times winners TNS in 29 previous games.

New Saints had the early chances with Ashley Morris denying Jamie Mullan and then parrying Jon Routledge's long range effort.

Bala appeals for a penalty were turned down after Chris Venables was brought down by Steve Saunders while Lee Hunt's acrobatic effort was palmed away by Paul Harrison.

Bala players Anthony Stephens, Ian Sheridan and Mark Connolly celebrate with the Welsh Cup
Bala players Anthony Stephens, Ian Sheridan and Mark Connolly celebrate with the Welsh Cup

Morris made a fantastic save to deny Greg Draper's close range header in what was a competitive and entertaining first half.

Saints' Chris Marriott saw his free kick hit the post early in the second half before the holders broke the deadlock minutes later.

Bala keeper Morris parried a shot from Saunders, who then teed-up New Zealand international Draper to score from close range.

Mullan should have sealed victory for Saints, but he was denied by man of the match Morris before Bala equalised with 13 minutes remaining.

Evans' scuffed shot took a double deflection to beat Harrison.

And Smith's header from Chris Venables' cross five minutes from time completed Bala's comeback and secured a dramatic win.

Bala Town manager Colin Caton told BBC Wales: "It means everything winning it for the first time.

"It's difficult to challenge TNS because they're so good but in a one off occasion it's gone our way.

"We're going to have a few weeks off, the lads deserve it."

Bala Town: Morris, Stephens, Stuart Jones, Stuart J. Jones, Sheridan (Wade), Smith, Hunt (Evans), Venables, Irving, Thompson, Burke

Substitutes: Valentine, Connolly, Goldston

The New Saints: Harrison, Spender, Marriott, Routledge, Brobbel (Darlington) Draper (Quigley), Mullan (Seargeant), Saunders, Rawlinson, Cieslewicz, Edwards

Substitutes: Pryce, Wycherley

Referee: Huw Jones

Attendance: 1,110

Scores, Results & Fixtures

Sunday 30th April 2017

Top Stories