Riyad Mahrez's disallowed Leicester City penalty a 'freak' event

Media playback is not supported on this device

'Freak' Mahrez spot-kick was bad luck - Shakespeare

Riyad Mahrez's disallowed penalty in Leicester's 2-1 loss against Manchester City was a "freak" occurrence, said Foxes boss Craig Shakespeare.

Mahrez slipped as he took a second-half spot-kick that diverted the ball onto his standing foot before it looped into the net.

Referee Bobby Madley gave a free-kick to Man City because of the two touches.

"The shot was strange but the rule is clear. Two touches, the same as golf," said Man City manager Pep Guardiola.

"It is not normal."

Had the goal stood, it would have made the scoreline 2-2 after Leicester had trailed 2-0.

Shakespeare accepted there were two touches, but felt the penalty could have been retaken because of opposition players encroaching in the area.

Media playback is not supported on this device

I have to adapt to English referees - Guardiola

"I didn't see it at the time. It's a freak thing you don't see often," he said.

"To the letter of the law it's a double touch, but he could bring it back for an encroachment from Manchester City so there's a bit of injustice. It's bad luck from our point of view."

'Marc understands there was no intent'

Marc Albrighton
Marc Albrighton was sporting a notable bruise after being caught by Fernandinho's elbow

Leicester winger Marc Albrighton received a nasty bruise under his eye after being caught by Fernandinho's elbow in a second-half challenge.

Albrighton was unhappy at the incident and was later booked for a wild challenge on the Brazilian.

However, after seeing a replay of the clash, Shakespeare said: "I have sympathy with Marc but there is no intent. It was a competitive challenge. Marc understands that."

Schmeichel anger at offside rule

Media playback is not supported on this device

'Inexplicable' Silva goal was three times offside - Schmeichel

Man City's opener came amid controversy, as Raheem Sterling was stood in an offside position when he stretched to reach David Silva's shot.

Sterling failed to touch the ball, with the goal awarded to Silva, but Foxes keeper Kasper Schmeichel was angered by the decision.

"The Man City player is in an offside position when the ball is struck," he said.

"The ball goes across him, which prevents me seeing. He's stood in front of Christian Fuchs, and he also goes for the ball - so it's three times offside.

"If he's in the six-yard box he's influencing something in there. I think the rule needs to be looked at. He might be onside and get a flick on it and I have to take that into consideration."

Top Stories