Linfield dominate writers' awards with Healy, Mulgrew and Smyth among winners

Linfield players Roy Carroll, Jamie Mulgrew and Paul Smyth with their awards in Belfast
Linfield players Roy Carroll, Jamie Mulgrew and Paul Smyth with their awards in Belfast

Linfield dominated Monday night's Northern Ireland Football Writers' Awards as David Healy, Jamie Mulgrew and Paul Smyth were among the winners.

After the club's league and cup double, Healy won the manager award with Mulgrew handed the player honour and Smyth taking the young player award.

In addition, Linfield keeper Roy Carroll clinched the goalkeeper award.

Gareth McAuley was named international personality of the year with Marissa Callaghan winning the women's award.

Warrenpoint Town's John McGuigan won the championship player of the season honour with Limavady United picking up the non-senior team award.

Northern Ireland great Sammy McIlroy was inducted into the Dr Malcolm Brodie Hall of Fame with Linfield's Andy Kerr picking up the merit award.

Coleraine's James McLaughlin winning goal of the season for his strike against Crusaders.

Belleek Northern Ireland Football Writers' Association Awards

Manager: David Healy (Linfield) - other nominees David Jeffrey (Ballymena United), Oran Kearney (Coleraine)

Footballer: Jamie Mulgrew (Linfield) - other nominees Roy Carroll (Linfield), Stephen Lowry (Linfield)

Championship: John McGuigan (Warrenpoint Town) - other nominees Corey McMullan (Ballyclare Comrades), Stephen O'Donnell (Institute)

Non-Senior Team: Limavady United - other nominees Crumlin Star, Linfield Swifts

Young Player: Paul Smyth (Linfield) - other nominees Lyndon Kane (Coleraine), Jamie McGonigle (Coleraine)

Goalkeeper: Roy Carroll (Linfield) - other nominees Jonny Tuffey (Glenavon), Chris Johns (Coleraine)

International Personality: Gareth McAuley - other nominees Jonny Evans, Steven Davis

NIFL Women's Personality: Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville) - other nominees Julie Nelson (Crusaders), Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)

Dr Malcolm Brodie Hall of Fame: Sammy McIlroy

Merit Award: Andy Kerr (Linfield)

Goal of the Season: James McLaughlin (Coleraine v Crusaders)

Top Stories