Confederations Cup: Germany name seven uncapped players in squad

Arsenal and Germany midfielder Mesut Ozil
Arsenal's Mesut Ozil is one of several players to be rested for this summer's Conferation Cup in Russia

World champions Germany have named seven uncapped players in their squad for this summer's Confederations Cup.

Key players rested for the tournament in Russia include keeper Manuel Neuer, Arsenal midfielder Mesut Ozil, defender Mats Hummels and forward Thomas Muller.

Arsenal's Shkodran Mustafi, Liverpool's Emre Can and Manchester City's Leroy Sane are all included.

Midfielders Jerome Boateng, Toni Kroos and Marco Reus are also omitted from the 23-man squad.

The uncapped players chosen are playmaker Kerem Demirbay and striker Sandro Wagner (both Hoffenheim), winger Amin Younes (Ajax), midfielder Diego Demme (RB Leipzig), goalkeeper Kevin Trapp (Paris St-Germain), defender Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin) and striker Lars Stindl (Borussia Monchengladbach).

It will be Germany's third tournament in four summers, after the 2014 World Cup and last year's European Championships, where they reached the semi-finals.

Coach Joachim Low said: "We want those who will be with us to learn our ideas, our mechanisms, train with us. That is the aim. To bring them a bit further towards world level."

The competition runs from 17 June to 2 July, with Germany's opening match on 18 June against Australia in Sochi.

They will also face Chile and Cameroon, with Russia, New Zealand, Portugal and Mexico making up the other group.

Germany squad:

Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (PSG)

Defenders: Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Niklas Sule (Hoffenheim), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin), Skhodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Antonio Rudiger (AS Roma)

Midfielders/Forwards: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Emre Can (Liverpool), Kerem Demirbay (Hoffenheim), Diego Demme (RB Leipzig), Julian Draxler (PSG), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Leroy Sane (Man City), Lars Stindl (Borussia Monchengladbach), Sandro Wagner (Hoffenheim), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Amin Younes (Ajax).

Top Stories