Republic of Ireland ring changes for Uruguay friendly

John O'Shea spent 12 years at Manchester United before joining Sunderland in 2011
John O'Shea spent 12 years at Manchester United before joining Sunderland in 2011
Republic of Ireland v Uruguay
Date: Sunday, 4 June Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin Kick-off: 18:00 BST
Coverage: Score updates & report on BBC Sport website

Martin O'Neill has brought nine players into the Republic of Ireland squad for Sunday's friendly against Uruguay.

The manager has recalled experienced internationals John O'Shea, Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick, Jon Walters and Glenn Whelan for the clash in Dublin.

An inexperienced Republic line-up lost 3-1 to Mexico in New Jersey on Friday.

Harry Arter, Aiden McGeady, Jonny Hayes and Keiren Westwood also come into the squad ahead of the home World Cup qualifier against Austria on 11 June.

Uruguay are ranked 16th in the world, one place above Mexico who gave O'Neill's squad a footballing lesson in New Jersey.

However, the Republic boss has no regrets about taking on the difficult fixture, nor about the possible attacking threat of Uruguay, who will be without their star Barcelona striker Luis Suarez at the Aviva Stadium.

"I know I've said it umpteen times and it's worth repeating - I don't mind these tests, I prefer them," O'Neill said.

"I prefer the players to be in against something rather than taking a relatively easy friendly game. if there's such a thing, and get a false confidence about yourself.

"It's best to go and play these games. It is all preparation for Austria."

Birmingham City's Stephen Gleeson is the only player to have left the squad following the trip to the United States as he is getting married in Portugal.

O'Neill added: "The Premier League players might need some game time and try to visualise the game against Austria at the same time".

Republic of Ireland squad: Goalkeepers - Randolph, Westwood, Doyle; Defenders - Christie, Pearce, Keogh, Duffy, O'Shea, Long, Boyle, Egan, Ward; Midfielders - McGeady, O'Kane, Whelan, Arter, Hourihane, Browne, Brady, Hendrick, Horgan, Hoolahan, O'Dowda, McClean, Hayes; Forwards - Walters, Murphy, McGoldrick.

Top Stories