World Cup qualifiers: Wales name 23-man squad for Serbia

Ben Woodburn
Liverpool forward Ben Woodburn is also eligible to play for England
World Cup qualifier: Serbia v Wales
Date: Sunday, 11 June Venue: Stadion Rajko Mitić, Belgrade Kick-off: 19:45 BST
Coverage: Live on BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru, BBC Radio 5 live sports extra & BBC Sport website and BBC Sport app, plus live text commentary.

Wales have included five uncapped players in the squad for the World Cup qualifier in Serbia on Sunday, 11 June.

Defenders Joe Walsh, Tom Lockyer, Gethin Jones as well as midfielder Lee Evans and forward Ben Woodburn are in a 23-man squad.

Ethan Ampadu, Declan John and Marley Watkins have not been included after taking part in a training camp in Portugal.

Watkins, who has joined Norwich from Barnsley, picked up a thigh injury.

Wales are third in Group D after drawing against Austria, Georgia, Serbia and the Republic of Ireland.

Chris Coleman's side are four points behind both group leaders Serbia and second-placed Republic of Ireland with five qualifying games remaining.

The group winner will qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia with the second-placed team advancing to a play-off in order to qualify.

Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale and Aston Villa defender Neil Taylor are suspended for the game in Belgrade.

Meanwhile, Liverpool forward Harry Wilson, Wales' youngest international player, is also included.

Wales squad to face Serbia

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Danny Ward (Liverpool), Owain Fôn Williams (Inverness Caledonian Thistle)

Defenders: Ashley Williams (Everton), Chris Gunter (Reading), James Chester (Aston Villa), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Jazz Richards (Cardiff City), Joe Walsh (MK Dons), Tom Lockyer (Bristol Rovers), Gethin Jones (Everton)

Midfielders: Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal), Joe Ledley (Crystal Palace), Emyr Huws (Cardiff City), Dave Edwards (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Joe Allen (Stoke City), Lee Evans (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Harry Wilson (Liverpool)

Forwards: Tom Lawrence (Leicester City), Hal Robson-Kanu (West Bromwich Albion), Sam Vokes (Burnley), Tom Bradshaw (Barnsley), Ben Woodburn (Liverpool)

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC