Bate Borisov win 12th Belarus title in a row with 96th minute goal

Bate Borisov
Bate Borisov claimed their 14th Belarus Premier League title since it began in 1992

You've won your final game 4-1, your long wait for a league title is nearly over and your title rivals - who have won it 11 times on the trot - are losing in injury time. Job done, right?

Unfortunately not for Dinamo Minsk, who saw the Belarus Premier League snatched away by Bate Borisov when they scored in the sixth minute of stoppage time to claim a draw and their 12th consecutive title.

Mirko Ivanic's 96th-minute equaliser made it 3-3 and secured a point for Bate away to Gorodeya, and the result saw his side win the league on a better head-to-head record over Dinamo, who last claimed the title in 2004.

Bate Borisov

Dinamo's win at Vitebsk moved them on to 68 points, but Ivanic's second goal of the game ensured that Bate's dominance of Belarusian football continues.

Shakhtyor Soligorsk were the last club other than Bate to win the title, in 2005, with Dinamo claiming it a year earlier.

Bate were losing 3-1 before a penalty from Vitali Rodionov gave them hope with 12 minutes of normal time remaining.

They are currently at the foot of Group H in the Europa League, and they must beat Arsenal on 7 December to have any chance of progressing to the next round.

Top Stories