Bangor City and Connah's Quay to appeal domestic and UEFA licence refusal


Welsh Premier League teams Bangor City and Connah's Quay Nomads have confirmed they will appeal against a decision not to award them their domestic and UEFA licences.

The FAW announced earlier this month that both clubs had failed in their applications, which means they will no longer be able to play in Welsh football's top flight next season.

Llanelli Town are also appealing against their domestic licence refusal.

The appeal hearings are on 26 April.

Caernarfon Town, currently top of the Huws Gray Alliance, were successful in their application.

It means they are eligible to play in the Premier League should they achieve promotion.

Nine clubs were successful in applying for a FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for the 2018-19 season:

  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Bala Town
  • Barry Town United
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Carmarthen Town
  • Cefn Druids
  • Llandudno
  • Newtown
  • The New Saints

They were assessed on criteria such as infrastructure, the youth and coaching set ups, as well as administration and personnel.

Five other teams were granted a FAW Tier 1 Licence:

  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Caernarfon Town
  • Flint Town United
  • Haverfordwest County
  • Rhyl

Penybont, Porthmadog and Prestatyn Town all withdrew their applications.

Top Stories