Euro 2020 qualifiers: Wales face Croatia, Azerbaijan, Hungary and Slovakia

Media playback is not supported on this device

Ryan Giggs says he is 'relatively happy' with Wales' qualification group

Wales will take on Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary and Azerbaijan in Group E of the Euro 2020 qualifiers.

Ryan Giggs' side will play all of their home games at Cardiff City Stadium, starting with Slovakia on 24 March.

The top two teams from each of the 10 groups will qualify for the tournament, which is being held in 12 countries.

The qualifiers, condensed because of this year's Uefa Nations League group games, will take place between March and November 2019.

England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland also learned their group rivals.

Wales open their campaign against Slovakia on Sunday, 24 March before an away double header against Croatia and Hungary in June.

Giggs' side will finish the campaign at home to Hungary on 19 November.

For Euro 2020 no play-off place is on offer via the traditional qualifying process.

The play-offs will be contested by teams who finished top of their Nations League groups; Wales finished second behind Denmark in November, 2018.

However, if those teams guaranteed play-off places qualify automatically, the next best ranked sides from the Nations League take their place.

Croatia were the top seeds in the group and reached the 2018 World Cup finals after beating England in the semi-finals before losing to France.

Giggs wants automatic Euros place

Giggs was in Dublin for the draw and wants automatic qualification for what would only be the third major tournament in their history.

"I think Croatia are favourites and the rest of the teams are competitive," he told BBC Sport Wales.

"I'm relatively happy. It could have been better, could have been worse.

"It's a competitive group. We'll need to play well to get through it.

"Overall, you've got to be happy. You know you've got to turn up and play well.

"We've shown glimpses of it, now we have to show it consistently going into the qualifiers."

Wales fixtures

Wales v Slovakia, Sunday 24 March (14:00)

Croatia v Wales, Saturday 8 June (14:00)

Hungary v Wales, Tuesday 11 June (19:45)

Wales v Azerbaijan, Friday 6 September (19:45)

Slovakia v Wales, Thursday 10 October (19:45)

Wales v Croatia, Sunday 13 October (19:45)

Azerbaijan v Wales, Saturday 16 November (17:00)

Wales v Hungary, Tuesday 19 November (19:45)

Full Euro 2020 qualifiers draw

Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo.

Group B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg.

Group C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus.

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar.

Group E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan.

Group F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta.

Group G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia, Latvia.

Group H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra.

Group I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino.

Group J: Italy, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein.

Top Stories