BBC wins top F1 broadcaster award

The BBC has been named the best broadcaster of the year by Formula 1's governing body the FIA.

The award was presented by Force India boss Vijay Mallya at an FIA gala event in Delhi on Friday, where the winners of the organisation's championships were given their trophies.

The BBC has a contract to broadcast F1 in the UK until the end of 2018.

From next year, it will be sharing the coverage of the sport with satellite broadcaster Sky.

The BBC will show 10 of the races live, with extended highlights of the remainder.

The FIA gala was held in Delhi for the first time - normally it is in either Paris, where the governing body is based, or Monaco.

F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel was presented with his second consecutive world championship trophy, and McLaren's Jenson Button and Vettel's Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber also picked up trophies for finishing second and third respectively.