F1: Suzi Perry replaces Jake Humphrey as BBC presenter

Suzi Perry

Suzi Perry will present the BBC's Formula 1 coverage from the start of next season,

Perry, 42, previously presented the BBC's MotoGP coverage for 10 years, as well as reporting on other sports.

"Motorsport is my life and I've really missed being away from the grid," said Perry.

"I am so excited to be joining the BBC. Working alongside such an eminent team and the F1 world is a huge honour and I can't wait to get started."

The BBC also confirmed that the British, Belgian, Italian and Brazilian Grands Prix are among 10 races that will be shown live on terrestrial television.

However, the Monaco Grand Prix will not be shown live on the BBC.

There will be extended television highlights of the action from Monte Carlo and the other nine races that are not part of the BBC's live TV coverage.

All 20 races will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 5 live or 5 live sports extra, with live text commentary on the BBC Sport website.

The BBC extended its agreement to show Formula 1 though to 2018 in July 2011, sharing rights to the sport with Sky Sports where previously it had been the exclusive UK broadcaster.

Beyond her experience in sport, Perry has presented television programmes across entertainment, technology and travel, most notably the Gadget Show on Channel 5 since 2003.

"She'll bring real energy and years of experience to one of the biggest jobs in sports broadcasting," said BBC Head of F1 Ben Gallop.

"Her presenting ability, coupled with her love and knowledge of motorsport, make her an excellent addition.

"I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank Jake Humphrey for his enormous contribution to the coverage over the last four years and we all wish him the best for the future."

Humphrey, who presented the BBC's Formula 1 coverage from the start of 2009, announced in September that he would leave at the end of the 2012 season

The rest of the BBC's presentation team for 2013 "will be confirmed in due course", according to the corporation.

Live Grands Prix:

  • China, 14 April
  • Spain, 12 May
  • Canada, 9 June
  • Silverstone, 30 June
  • TBA*, 21 July
  • Belgium, 25 August
  • Italy, 8 September
  • Japan, 13 October
  • India, 27 October
  • Brazil, 24 November

* venue yet to be confirmed by Formula One Management

Top Stories