Malaysian GP key stats and facts

The Malaysian Grand Prix

First Grand Prix: 1962

Circuit distance: 5.543 km (3.444 miles)

Race Laps: 56

Lap record: 1min 34.223secs by Juan Pablo Montoya in a Williams-BMW (2004)

First included in the Formula One World Championship in 1999, the current Malaysian Grand Prix is held at the Sepang International Circuit at Sepang. FIA-sanctioned racing in Malaysia has existed since the 1960s.

Most wins by driver (since 1999):

3 Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso & Sebastian Vettel

Most wins by team (since 1999):

6 Ferrari

3 Red Bull

2 McLaren & Renault

The Sepang circuit was the first of the new breed of Formula 1 tracks designed by Hermann Tilke and held its first F1 race in 1999. It has retained a calendar berth every year since

Despite monsoons being quite synonymous with the Sepang International Circuit, only 31% of races have been rain-affected.

The first race to be held in Malaysia was the penultimate round of the 1999 season, where Ferrari took a dominant 1-2 finish. Eddie Irvine took victory after Michael Schumacher (returning after a broken leg) moved over to let the Ulsterman claim his fourth win of the season to bolster his championship challenge

It was at the Malaysian Grand Prix in 2010 where Caterham and Marussia (then known as Lotus and Virgin) qualified for Q2 for the first time in their short histories, taking advantage of the wet weather conditions to knock out two Ferrari's and a McLaren

Top Stories