Spanish Grand Prix preview - all you need to know

The Spanish Grand Prix is 66 laps long and consists of 16 turns.

First held: 1951

Circuit distance: 4.655km

Lap record: 1.21.670 secs (Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 2008)

1985: Lewis Hamilton was born in the most recent year Spain did not host a Grand Prix.

75% of polesitters have gone on to win the race at the Circuit de Catalunya.

The Catalan tradition of building human towers called castells can produce structures around 40ft high... the height of 12.5 F1 cars.

Michael Schumacher has the most wins at this circuit with six.

Three-time winners include Sir Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost and Mika Hakkinen.

Ferrari have the most Spanish Grand Prix wins with 12. McLaren have eight and Lotus (the original team founded by Colin Chapman) seven.

Jenson Button has completed more than 35,000km of testing at the Circuit de Catalunya... almost one-tenth the distance from the Earth to the Moon (384,400km).

Five different circuits have hosted the Spanish Grand Prix in the F1 era - Pedralbe, Montjuic, Jarama, Perez and Circuit de Catalunya (since 1991).