Ulster club hurling semi-final: Loughgiel 1-16 to 1-9 Ballygalget

Benny McCarry hit 1-4 for Loughgiel against Ballygalget

Loughgiel and Slaughtneil will contest this year's Ulster club hurling final on 27 October after their respective semi-final victories on Sunday.

Ulster holders Loughgiel beat Down champions Ballygalget by 1-16 to 1-9 in Owenbeg.

Benny McCarry's goal helped Loughgiel lead 1-8 to 0-4 at the break and Gareth Johnson's goal was unable to inspire a Ballygalget rally.

Derry champions Slaughtneil hammered Lisbellaw 4-18 to 0-7 at Dungannon.

Loughgiel, the 2012 All-Ireland club hurling champions, seized the early initiative through a goal from man of the match Benny McCarry after eight minutes.

Liam Watson hit a 20 metre free short to him and, with the Ballygalget defence napping, he drilled a low shot past Graham Clarke.

The goal gave Loughgiel a cushion they held on to for the remainder of the game.

Shay Casey scored twice from play in the first half with Liam Watson hitting 0-4, three from frees, to stretch the favourites' lead.

Ballygalget had a poor first half and trailed by 1-8 to 0-4 at the interval.

The Down champions were much livelier in the second-half and Gareth Johnson, the star of Down's Christy Ring Cup success this year, grabbed a goal back after 37 minutes.

Fellow Down player Danny Toner 0-4 in the second half but Loughgiel were always comfortable and were not flattered by the seven-point winning margin.

McCarry top-scored with 1-4 for Loughgiel with Watson contributing six points.

Loughgiel: D Quinn; P Gillan, N McGarry, R McCloskey; T Coyle, M Scullion, O McFadden; M McFadden, T McCloskey; M Connolly, D Laverty (0-1), E McCloskey (0-1); B McCarry (1-4), S Casey (0-2), L Watson (0-6, 4f)

Subs: D McKinley (0-1) for Connolly (HT), B McAuley (0-1) for T McCloskey (50), D McCloskey for E McCloskey (53), S Dobbin for Laverty (58)

Ballygalget: G Clarke; S Clarke, S Johnson, P McManus; S Bailie, J McGrath, B Toner; E Clarke, G Clarke; J McManus, D McManus, C Bailie (0-2, 1f); G Dynes (0-1), G Johnson (1-1, 1f), D Toner (0-5, 2f)

Subs: J Smyth for S Johnson (30), A Smyth for McManus (45), K McGreevy for Dynes (50)

Referee: Eamonn Hasson (Derry)

Ulster Club Hurling Semi-Finals results

Loughgiel 1-16 1-09 Ballygalget

Slaughtneil 4-18 0-07 Lisbellaw

Top Stories