Clare's All-Ireland winning hurlers collect eight All Stars

Seamus Harnedy and Patrick Donnellan
Seamus Harnedy and Patrick Donnellan

Clare's All-Ireland winning hurling team have collected eight All Stars in the GAA and GPA's annual awards.

David McInerney, Brendan Bugler, Pat Donnellan, Colm Galvin, Conor Ryan, Tony Kelly, Pádraic Collins and Conor McGrath have been selected in the 15.

The awards round off a memorable year for the Banner County, in which they beat Cork in the final replay.

Cork and the team they defeated in the semi-final, Dublin, each earn three spots in the team.

Limerick's Richie McCarthy completes the team meaning only players from the four semi-finalists are included.

In all there are a total of 12 first-time recipients reflecting the wind of change that blew through hurling in 2013.

Anthony Nash, Brendan Bugler and Liam Rushe are the only previous award winners.

No less than five Under-21 hurlers are included - McInerney, Galvin, Kelly and Collins from Under-21 winners Clare, who are joined by Danny Sutcliffe from Dublin, who enjoy their best ever return.

GAA president Liam O'Neill said: "This year's hurling selection was of particular interest to hurling followers everywhere after the incredible year we had.

"The players who have made the final cut can take particular satisfaction on doing so in a season of stiff competition as new teams and players emerged - something evidenced in the final make up of the team.

"I congratulate all 15 players - and those who were nominated too - as their inclusion further underlines their roles as excellent ambassadors through their commitment and dedication to the pursuit of excellence.

The Football All Stars, along with the winners of the player of the year awards, will be announced at the annual awards ceremony at Croke Park on Friday night.

2013 GAA/GPA Hurling All Stars -Goalkeeper - Anthony Nash (Cork); Full backs - Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Peter Kelly (Dublin), David McInerney (Clare); Half backs - Brendan Bugler (Clare), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Patrick Donnellan (Clare); Midfield - Colm Galvin (Clare), Conor Ryan (Clare), Half forwards - Seamus Harnedy (Cork), Tony Kelly (Clare), Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin); Full forwards - Padraic Collins (Clare), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor McGrath (Clare).