McKenna Cup semi-finals: Derry aim to curb Tyrone young guns

Tyrone's Kevin Gallagher in action against Derry in the McKenna Cup last year

Derry face the task of subduing Tyrone's high-scoring young guns in Sunday's Dr McKenna Cup semi-final at Omagh (14:00 GMT).

Mickey Harte's side routed Armagh 5-16 to 0-7 on Wednesday but the Tyrone boss makes 10 changes for Sunday's game.

Ronan McNamee, Peter Harte, Ronan McNabb, Danny McBride and Mattie Donnelly retain their starting places.

Sunday's other semi-final sees Ulster champions Monaghan in a derby clash against Cavan at Enniskillen (14:00).

Harte has used the season-opening competition as an opportunity to look at all his squad and he has been making sweeping changes match-on-match.

Those handed starts on Sunday included Clonoe keeper Mickey O'Neill who takes over from Niall Morgan.

The defences includes Ryan McKenna and Conor Clarke with Niall McKenna partnering Danny McBride at centre-field.

With Donnelly the only attacker to retain his place from Wednesday night, the forward line also includes Kevin Gallagher, Peter Hughes, Plunkett Kane, Darren McCurry and Connor McAliskey.

Derry boss Brian McIver also makes eight changes to his team from Wednesday's 1-17 to 0-14 win over St Mary's.

Thomas Mallon replaces Eoin McNicholl in goals with Michael McShane and Charlie Kielt taking over from Damien Brown and James Kearney in defence.

Fergal Doherty returns to midfield in place of Paudie McGuigan with Gerard O'Kane, Emmet McGuckin, Sean Leo McGoldrick and Declan Mullan taking over from Peter Cassidy, Niall McFeely, Niall McNicholl and Anthony O'Neill in attack.

Cavan and Monaghan have yet to name their line-ups for the other semi-final.

The game is a repeat of last year's Ulster semi-final when the Farney County edged a 1-10 to 0-12 victory.

Conor McManus hasn't featured thus far in the McKenna Cup and is unlikely to get any action at Enniskillen though Martin Dunne could be handed his first start of the season.


Derry: T Mallon, O Duffy, D McBride, M McShane; C Kielt, M Craig, K Johnston; F Doherty, N Holly; G O'Kane, E McGuckin, SL McGoldrick; C McGoldrick, D Mullan, A Kerrigan.

Tyrone: M O'Neill; R McKenna, C Clarke, R McNamee; T McCann, P Harte, R McNabb; N McKenna, D McBride; K Gallagher, P Hughes, P Kane; D McCurry, M Donnelly, C McAliskey.

Top Stories