Jordanstown to face DCU in Sigerson Cup opener

UCC forward Paul Geaney challenges UUJ's Ronan O'Neill in the final
UCC edged out UUJ in this year's Sigerson Cup final in Belfast

This year's beaten finalists UUJ will host DCU in their opening first-round game in the 2015 Sigerson Cup.

Queen's will also have home advantage for their opener against Martin McHugh's IT Sligo team while holders UCC will take on Cork IT.

St Mary's College, meanwhile, will be away to either NUI Galway or IT Blanchardstown in their opener.

UUJ and St Mary's will meet in the quarter-finals if both come through their opening matches.

Jordanstown were edged out 0-10 to 0-9 by UCC in last year's final in Belfast.

UUJ claimed the last of their five Sigerson Cup titles in 2008 while Queen's are seeking their first triumph in the varsity competition since their 2007 success.

St Mary's sole Sigerson Cup title was achieved in 1989.

Ulster's sole Fitzgibbon Cup hopefuls UUJ will face Limerick IT and DIT in their first-round group.

Preliminary Round, 27-28 January

NUIG v IT Blanchardstown

Trinity College v Athlone IT

Round 1, 27-28 January or 3/4 February

(A) UCC v Cork IT

(B) Queens v IT Sligo

(C) Maynooth University v UL

(D) IT Tralee v IT Carlow

(E) Trinity College/Athlone IT v UCD *


(G) NUIG/IT Blanchardstown v St Mary's


Quarter-Finals, 11/12 February

(I) A v B

(J) C v D

(K) E v F

(L) G v H

Semi-Finals, 20 February

I v J

K v L

Final, 21 February