Tyrone elect GAA's first county chairwoman

Roisin Jordan and Mickey Harte
Roisin Jordan pictured with Tyrone football manager Mickey Harte last week

GAA history was made in Tyrone on Tuesday night with the election of the first female chairperson of a county board in Ireland.

Roisin Jordan, who served as vice-chair for the last five years, was elected unopposed at the county convention.

Donal Magee and Eugene McConnell withdrew from the contest, allowing the mother-of-four to assume the top job.

She succeeds Ciaran McLaughlin, who having completed a five-year term was compelled to step down.

The tradition in Tyrone is that the vice-chair steps into the top position so Jordan's elevation was expected in a ground-breaking move for the county.

Since the foundation of the GAA 130 years ago, no woman had ever been elected to the chairmanship of one of the 32 Irish county boards.

Donegal's Noreen Doherty became the first woman to be elected as secretary of a county board in 1992.

Former camogie player Jordan, from Eglish, has served on Tyrone's GAA disciplinary committee as well as being secretary of her club.

Mayo woman Eileen Jennings has served as chairperson of the European GAA Board but Jordan has become the first female chairperson of an Irish county.