McKenna Cup: Venues of two Sunday matches changed

Sean Cavanagh returns for the Omagh encounter against the Saffrons
Sean Cavanagh returns for the Omagh encounter against the Saffrons

The venues for two of Sunday's rearranged McKenna Cup games have been changed because of the effect of the adverse weather conditions on pitches.

Tyrone's Section C game against Antrim will now be played at Clones rather than Healy Park in Omagh.

The Section C clash between Derry and Queen's, originally scheduled for Owenbeg, has been moved to Lavey.

Cavan host Monaghan at Breffni Park and Donegal play Fermanagh at Ballyshannon, throw-ins at 14:00 GMT.

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has made nine changes for the match with the Saffrons.

Sean Cavanagh, Darren McCurry and Kyle Coney are drafted into the Red Hands attack while Emmett McKenna comes in for Colm Cavanagh in midfield.

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan replaces Mickey O'Neill with Justin McMahon, Tiernan McCann, Ronan McNabb and Barry Tierney returning in defence.

Tyrone will be assured of a semi-final spot if they avoid defeat at Clones.

Several of Antrim's squad are representing their colleges in the McKenna Cup but Frank Fitzsimmon's team will include experienced players Chris Kerr, Tony Scullion, Sean McVeigh, CJ McGourty and Michael Magill.

Armagh defeated St Mary's on Wednesday night to join Tyrone on four points but the Orchard men have played all three of their group matches.

Holders Tyrone were also scheduled to play on Wednesday but a snow-covered Healy Park meant it was one of four McKenna Cup fixtures to fall victim to the weather.

All four will be played on Sunday with Derry taking on Queen's and Donegal hosting Fermanagh in Section B.

Paul Durcan and Eamon McGee will make their first appearances for 2015 for Donegal against the Erne County while Rory Gallagher also includes other regulars Declan Walsh, Frank McGlynn, Christy Toye, Mark McHugh and Odhran MacNiallais.

In contrast, Derry manager Brian McIver has named 13 under-21s for the game against Queen's at Lavey with only skipper Mark Lynch and Eoin McNicholl not eligible for the age grade team.

The Ernemen top the standings with maximum points from two games ahead of the Ballyshannon encounter and will earn a semi-final place if they avoid defeat.

However, Donegal and Derry wins would leave a three-week tie at the top with all three teams on four points, with scoring averages deciding the group winners.

The other game sees Cavan facing derby rivals Monaghan in Section A, both teams on two points and two behind Down, who beat UUJ on Wednesday night.

Monaghan boss Malachy O'Rourke has named a side mixed with experience and youth.

The regulars in the Monaghan team include Drew Wylie, Dessie Mone, Kieran Duffy, Paul Finlay, Darren Hughes, Stephen Gollogly and Dick Clerkin.

Cavan boss Terry Hyland has yet to name his line-up but Martin Dunne and Micheal Lyng could make their first appearances of 2015.

The Breffni County will be without Eugene Keating who will not be part of the squad this week because of a combination and a back injury.

Tyrone: N Morgan, A McCrory, J McMahon, D Quinn, T McCann, R McNabb, B Tierney, E McKenna, P McNulty, Mark Donnelly, S Cavanagh, P Kane, D McCurry, K Coney, C McAliskey.

Substitutes: M O'Neill, R Brennan, C Cavanagh, P Harte, P Hughes, PJ Lavery, S McGuigan, R McKenna, N McKenna, R McNamee, C McShane.

Antrim: C Kerr; T Scullion, C Burke, C O'Rawe; P McAleer, D Lynch, E Killough; B Hasson, S McVeigh; N O'Neill, O Gallager, D McAleese; CJ McGourty, M Magill, C Fleming.

Donegal: P Durcan; E Doherty, E McGee, D Walsh; E McHugh, F McGlynn,, C McGinley; C Toye, M McElhinney; M McHugh, O MacNiallais, G McFadden; D McLaughlin, H McFadden, M O'Reilly.

Derry: E McNicholl; A Hargan, D Mullan, D Brown; P McElroy, L McGoldrick, M Sweeney; M Lynch, C McAtamney; C Murphy, J Kearney, C McFaul; N Toner, T O'Brien, N Loughlin.

Monaghan: E Duffy; J McCarron, D Wylie, R Wylie; D Mone, K Duffy, F Kelly; P Finlay, N McAdam; D Hughes, S Gollogly, S Carey; C McKenna, D Clerkin, B McElroy.

Substitutes: P McGuigan, P Kieran, M McElroy, K O'Connell, D Malone, P Meegan, T Connolly, B Greenan, R McAnespie, O Duffy, D McKenna.

Bank of Ireland McKenna Cup

Sunday 18 January - 14:00 throw-ins

Section A

Cavan v Monaghan (Kingspan Breffni Park)

Section B

Derry v QUB (Lavey)

Donegal v Fermanagh (Ballyshannon)

Section C

Tyrone v Antrim (Clones)

Top Stories