Football League Division One: Tyrone 0-09 Monaghan 1-13

Darren McCurry and Ryan Wylie
Tyrone's Darren McCurry is tracked by Monaghan's Ryan Wylie at Omagh

Monaghan bounced back from a five-point deficit to run out convincing winners over Tyrone in Division One at Omagh.

The Red Hands led 0-7 to 0-2 after 21 minutes but three points reduced the Farney men's arrears at the interval.

Monaghan moved 0-8 to 0-7 ahead before a floodlights failure led to a 30-minute delay in play at Healy Park.

The visitors continued to out-score their opponents and Stephen Gollogly scored the only goal on the hour. Colm Cavanagh was sent-off for two yellows.

Monaghan made two late changes to their starting line-up with Ryan McAnespie and Conor Byrne replacing Conor McManus and Owen Duffy.

The Tyrone side showed six changes from that which started the Dr McKenna Cup final, with several players having been dropped from the squad and others opting to sit out the league campaign.

Two points from Peter Hughes helped Mickey Harte's side to an early 0-4 to 0-2 advantage, then Darren McCurry knocked over three frees to extend the lead.

An excellent fisted score from Darren Hughes inspired a Monaghan comeback and the hosts were left to rue a series of wides during a first half in which they enjoyed a strong wind advantage.

Dermot Malone pointed 15 seconds after the break, a Daniel McKenna point brought the sides level, and then McAnespie put his side in front for the first time.

Play was halted for half an hour after the stadium was plunged into darkness, and soon after the restart, Matty Donnelly was black carded.

McKenna, Paul Finlay and Dessie Mone landed points for Monaghan, with Niall Morgan kicking the ball between the posts for a long-range free off the ground.

Gollogly's wonderful finish gave the eventual victors some breathing space and Tyrone's task became even more difficult when Cavanagh was red-carded four minutes later.

McCurry added to his tally, but substitutes Finlay and Conor McManus notched the final two scores of the match.



Division 1

Tyrone 0-09 1-13 Monaghan

Donegal 1-15 0-12 Derry

Division 3

Fermanagh 0-16 0-07 Louth

Division 4

Waterford 0-14 0-10 Wicklow

SUNDAY - 14:00

Division 1

Cork v Dublin, Pairc Ui Rinn

Kerry v Mayo, Killarney

Division 2

Galway v Meath, Pearse Stadium

Roscommon v Cavan, Kiltoom

Westmeath v Laois, Mullingar

Kildare v Down, Newbridge

Division 3

Clare v Wexford, Miltown Malbay

Limerick v Sligo, Kilmallock

Armagh v Tipperary, Athletic Grounds

Division 4

London v Offaly, Ruislip

Leitrim v Longford, Pairc Sean MacDiarmada

Antrim v Carlow, St Paul's

Top Stories