Division One Football League: Kerry 2-13 2-11 Donegal

Neil McGee grabs Kieran Donaghy's jersey in the Tralee clash
Tempers flared on occasions in the Tralee game

Kerry repeated their All-Ireland Final win from last year as they held off Donegal in the Division One encounter.

Bryan Sheehan hit three early points for Kerry but Ryan McHugh's goal helped Donegal lead before the Kingdom moved 0-9 to 1-5 ahead by the interval.

A Colm McFadden point contributed to Donegal regaining the lead but a Barry John Keane goal and a David Moran penalty saw Kerry move five clear.

Michael Murphy's 68th-minute penalty cut Kerry's lead but they held on.

McFadden equalled Brian Roper's Donegal appearance record of 129 when he was introduced in the second half.

Sheehan's three early frees helped Kerry lead but after Murphy and Patrick McBrearty had opened Donegal's account, McHugh's 10th-minute goal put the visitors ahead.

Kerry regrouped to lead by 0-9 to 1-2 ahead but points from Murphy and Martin McElhinney helped Donegal cut the margin to one by half-time.

Points from Murphy and McBrearty put Donegal ahead after the resumption but Keane's 45th-minute palmed goal restored Kerry's lead.

Donegal twice got to within a point of Kerry with McFadden and Mark McHugh also guilty of firing a couple of bad wides.

Moran's penalty put five between the teams with 10 minutes left and while that margin was reduced to only two in the 68th minute as Murphy netted his spot-kick following a foul on McFadden, Kerry held on to take the points in a game watched by over 6,000 spectators.



Football League Division 1

Mayo 0-10 2-18 Dublin

Division 2

Meath 0-13 0-13 Laois

Hurling League Division 1A

Clare 2-22 2-20 Dublin

Division 1B

Limerick 0-21 1-21 Offaly

Division 2B

Kildare 3-20 1-14 Mayo

Division 3B

Longford 2-16 2-11 Warwickshire


Football League Division 1

Kerry 2-13 2-11 Donegal

Monaghan 0-15 0-10 Derry

Tyrone 2-10 0-17 Cork

Division 2

Galway 0-10 0-12 Cavan

Kildare 2-12 0-24 Roscommon

Westmeath 0-10 2-17 Down

Division 3

Clare 1-11 3-11 Armagh

Fermanagh 2-19 2-10 Limerick

Louth 3-11 4-16 Tipperary

Sligo 2-10 1-08 Wexford

Division 4

Offaly 0-14 1-10 Carlow

Wicklow 1-10 1-16 Longford

Waterford 0-13 0-15 Antrim

Hurling League Division 1A

Tipperary 2-22 1-13 Kilkenny

Galway 0-20 2-17 Cork

Division 1B

Waterford 4-30 0-10 Antrim

Laois 0-25 5-22 Wexford

Division 2A

Carlow 3-17 1-24 Kerry

Westmeath 1-22 2-10 Wicklow

Division 2B

Down 4-17 2-11 Donegal

Meath 1-15 1-17 Armagh

Division 3A

Tyrone 1-20 2-07 Louth

Monaghan 0-18 2-12 Fingal

Roscommon 0-16 0-06 Fermanagh

Division 3B

Sligo 2-10 1-15 Leitrim