All-Ireland final: Dublin beat Kerry to regain title

Paddy Andrews of Dublin in action against Kerry defender Fionn Fitzgerald
Dublin beat Kerry to retain the All-Ireland Championship

Dublin regained the All-Ireland Football Championship by beating fierce rivals Kerry 0-12 to 0-9 in Sunday's final at a rain-sodden Croke Park.

The Dubs finished the first half strongly to lead by four and going into stoppage time Kerry needed a goal to salvage a replay.

However, Jim Gavin's men closed out a three-point victory and Dublin's third All-Ireland triumph in five years.

For Kerry, it was a hugely disappointing afternoon in Dublin.

They were briefly in front early in the game, but a succession of wides in the first half set the tone for a below-par performance.

It had been a close encounter with never more than two points between the teams - until Dublin's late first-half surge.

The decider was locked at 0-4 each when star forward Bernard Brogan spun to stroke over a well-taken point and that prompted a run of unanswered scores by Jack McCaffrey, Paddy Andrews and Philip McMahon.

The big goal chances

The showpiece occasion failed to yield a goal - but both sides had chances.

In the first half an opportunity opened up for Dean Rock but the Dublin forward saw his shot blocked by Kerry keeper Brendan Kealy.

After the break, his team-mate Denis Bastick declined an obvious point to go for goal, only to see his shot strike the base of the post.

Then late in the contest, with Kerry trailing by three, Killian Young looked to have an opportunity to equalise but the half-back dropped the ball at the vital moment.

Facts you need to know

  • This was the 128th All-Ireland final and Kerry have been the most successful county, winning 37 times
  • Dublin are second in the list of All-Ireland champions, lifting the Sam Maguire for the 25th time
  • It was the 14th All-Ireland final meeting between counties - Dublin have now won six to Kerry's eight
  • Kerry player Jonathan Lyne's grandfather Denny was an All-Ireland winner with the Kingdom

Kerry crowned Minor champions

Kerry had an easy win over Tipperary in the 2015 All-Ireland Minor final
Kerry beat Tipperary by 4-14 to 0-6 in the Minor final at Croke Park

In the Minor final played before the big game, Kerry retained their title with a dominant display against outplayed Tipperary.

Conor Geaney, whose cousin Paul played in the Senior final, scored two goals and four points as Kerry ran out easy 4-14 to 0-6 winners.

Bryan Sweeney and Mark Foley scored the other goals as Kerry secured their 13th All-Ireland minor triumph.

Meanwhile, Cushendall will meet Ballycastle in the Antrim club hurling decider after their 0-15 to 0-14 win over Loughgiel in Sunday's semi-final at Dunloy.

Top Stories