Trillick edge Killyclogher in Tyrone club final

Trillick's Lee Brennan has his shot blocked by Danny Gorman in the Tyrone final
Trillick's Lee Brennan has his shot blocked by Danny Gorman in the Tyrone final

Trillick clinched a last-gasp 1-9 to 0-11 victory over Killyclogher to win the Tyrone SFC decider in Omagh on Sunday.

Teenager Lee Brennan hit the winning point from a 60th minute free to settle a gripping encounter which was level on six occasions.

Brennan also scored the only goal after 13 seconds although Killyclogher went in 0-7 to 1-3 ahead at the break.

The match remained close in the second half before Brennan slotted over his fourth and decisive point.

Trillick kept their noses in front for most of the opening half with a couple of Daire Gallagher scores, before Killyclogher moved ahead for the first time when Conall McCann converted his second long-range free.

The St Mary's missed a golden goal chance when the McCann brothers, Tiernan and Conall, combined with the latter misplacing his return pass to an un-marked younger sibling at the far post.

With both sides getting 13 men behind the ball, clear-cut scoring chances became more scarce as the game progressed, but Killyclogher did hit the final two points of the half to lead at the interval.

Playing with a wind advantage, Killyclogher managed just one point in the third quarter, through Conall McCann, while Brennan tapped over a couple of frees at the other end.

And it was skipper Mattie Donnelly who opened out a two points gap, before the St Mary's came back for points from Mark Bradley and Gary Wallace.

Brennan edged Trillick back in front before Killyclogher drew level through substitute Thomas Flanagan.

U21 All-Ireland winner Brennan who had the final say as Trillick earned a seventh Tyrone title in their first year back in senior football.

Killyclogher: S Fox, M Swift, D Gorman, G Sludden, G Wallace (0-1), D Carlin (0-1), E Bradley, C McCann (0-3, 1f), N McFadden, T McCann (0-1), J Carlin (0-1), A Kelly, L Meenan (0-1), M Bradley (0-2), E McFadden.

Subs: T Flanagan (0-1) for J Carlin

Trillick: J Maguire, S O'Donnell, R Kelly, G McKenna, N Donnelly, R Brennan, F Donnelly, R Donnelly (0-1), E Gormley, M Donnelly (0-1), P O'Kane, S Kelly, N Gormley (0-1), L Brennan (1-4, 0-4f), D Gallagher (0-2).

Subs: D Kelly for McKenna, S Gormley for S Kelly, D McDonnell for F Donnelly

Tyrone SFC final
Trillick1-9 0-11Killyclougher
Armagh SFC final
Crossmaglen2-22 0-10Armagh Harps
Down SFC final
Kilcoo3-10 0-11Castlewellan
Fermanagh SFC final
Roslea3-7 3-16Derrygonnelly
Cavan SFC final
Castlerahan 0-11 1-9Kingscourt
Ulster Senior Club hurling semi-finals
Ballycran0-14 2-18Slaughtneil
Cushendall1-17 1-9Middletown

Top Stories