Ulster Championship 2016: Holders Monaghan to face Down

Monaghan won the Ulster Championship in July 2015
Monaghan have won the Ulster Championship twice in the last three years

Monaghan will start their defence of the Ulster Football Championship with a quarter-final meeting against Down.

Malachy O'Rourke's men won the provincial crown for the second time in three years by beating Donegal in the 2015 final.

Down lost to Derry last year and boss Jim McCorry quit after just one season.

Derry have been drawn against Tyrone while Cavan meet Armagh and Donegal face the winners of the preliminary round tie between Fermanagh and Antrim.

Ulster Football Championship 2016

Preliminary round

Fermanagh v Antrim


Donegal v Fermanagh or Antrim

Derry v Tyrone

Cavan v Armagh

Monaghan v Down

Leinster Football Championship 2016

First round

Laois v Wicklow

Louth v Carlow

Longford v Offaly


Laois or Wicklow v Dublin

Louth or Carlow v Meath

Longford or Offaly v Westmeath

Wexford v Kildare

Connacht Football Championship 2016

Preliminary round

Roscommon v New York


Roscommon or New York v Leitrim


Roscommon/New York/Leitrim v Sligo

Mayo or London v Galway

Munster Football Championship 2016 quarter-finals

Tipperary v Waterford

Clare v Limerick


Clare or Limerick v Kerry

Tipperary or Waterford v Cork

Top Stories