International Rules: Tadhg Kennelly rules out Australia flop

Australia seeking Rules revenge
International Rules Test: Ireland v Australia
Date: Saturday, 21 November Throw-in: 19:00 GMT Venue: Croke Park, Dublin Coverage: Live on BBC Radio Ulster medium wave and the BBC Sport website

Australia's assistant coach Tadhg Kennelly has insisted that the visitors will not be "embarrassed" in Saturday's International Rules Test at Croke Park.

A weak Australian side were humiliated 116-37 during their last visit to Croke Park two years ago.

However, a much stronger Aussie squad won last year's Test in Perth and the tourists appear to have arrived in Ireland with another talented line-up.

"This team is the best of the best," insisted the former Kerry GAA star.

"It's really a dream team of AFL footballers.

"The last time an Australian team set foot in Croke Park, they were embarrassed.

"The AFL people were embarrassed by the whole thing. I can guarantee you that won't happen this Saturday."

Bernard Brogan and Jack McCaffrey embrace after Dublin's All-Ireland triumph in September
Dublin stars Bernard Brogan and Jack McCaffrey are both part of the Ireland squad

Highly-regarded Australia coach Alastair Clarkson has picked a squad which includes Hawthorn star Luke Hodge, who will skipper the tourists.

Other big names in the Aussie squad include St Kilda star Nick Riewoldt and Western Bulldogs captain Robert Murphy.

"This Australian squad has got the best players, the best coaches and the best staff," added Kennelly, who represented Ireland in six International Rules Tests between 2001 and 2011.

"Everybody involved in the squad has put in a huge effort to get this series up and going.

"And just before arriving in Ireland, we spent five days in New York at a training camp and it was no holiday, I can tell you that."

Ireland coach Joe Kernan has also named a strong squad with nine of this year's All-Star Football team available to the former Armagh manager.

Footballer of the year Jack McCaffrey is joined by his Dublin team-mates Philly McMahon, Rory O'Carroll and Bernard Brogan, who captains the side.

The other 2015 All-Stars in the squad for the one-off Test at Croke Park on 23 November are Tyrone's Mattie Donnelly, Monaghan forward Conor McManus, Mayo pair Lee Keegan and Aidan O'Shea plus Kerry player Donnchadh Walsh.

Donnelly is also joined by Tyrone team-mates Niall Morgan and Peter Harte while Monaghan's Darren Hughes and Donegal's Paddy McBrearty are also part of the 23-man squad.

Diarmuid Connolly is the fifth member of Dublin's All-Ireland winning side to be included while other notable inclusions are Clare's Gary Brennan, Tipperary's Ciaran McDonald and Longford's Michael Quinn.

Ireland squad:

Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Colm Begley (Laois), Gary Brennan (Clare), Bernard Brogan (Dublin, capt), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Eoin Doyle (Kildare), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Lee Keegan (Mayo, vice-capt), Paul Kerrigan (Cork), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary), Philly McMahon (Dublin), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Rory O'Carroll (Dublin), John O'Loughlin (Laois), Aidan O'Shea (Mayo), Michael Quinn (Longford), Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Paul Cribben (Kildare), Paddy McBrearty (Donegal.

Stand-by: Paddy O'Rourke (Meath), Killian Clarke (Cavan), Ray Connellan (Westmeath), Kieran Hughes (Monaghan), Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan), Dessie Mone (Monaghan), Colm O'Neill (Cork), Enda Smith (Roscommon)