Dr McKenna Cup: Fermanagh v St Mary's game postponed

Fermanagh's Johnny Woods battles with St Mary's Brendan Hasson in the 2014 McKenna Cup game
Fermanagh's game against St Mary's has been rescheduled for Wednesday night

Fermanagh's Dr McKenna Cup opener against St Mary's College on Sunday has been postponed following heavy overnight rain in Enniskillen.

The game has been put back until Wednesday evening at Brewster Park.

All Sunday's other five opening round of fixtures remain on (14:00 GMT) with holders Tyrone facing Queen's at Omagh.

New inter-county managers Damien Barton and Eamonn Burns have their opening games in charge with Derry facing Antrim and Down travelling to Donegal.

Barton's Derry face the Saffrons at Owenbeg with Burns's Down taking on Donegal at Ballybofey.

GAA history was scheduled to be made in Sunday's game at Brewster Park with Cavan woman Maggie Farrelly due to become the first female to take charge of a senior inter-county game.

In Section C, Armagh host Cavan with Monaghan up against Ulster University.

Armagh's clash with Cavan takes place at Crossmaglen with Clones the venue for the other Section C opener.

Cavan referee Maggie Farrelly
Maggie Farrelly was scheduled to make GAA history by taking charge of Fermanagh's game against St Mary's

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has included Harry Og Conlon, Niall Sludden, Lee Brennan and Padraig McHampsey from last year's All-Ireland-winning Under-21 squad for their opener against Queen's.

However, the Red Hands line-up includes regulars Niall Morgan, Aidan McCrory, Conor Clarke, Peter Harte, Mark Bradley and Ronan O'Neill.

James McCartan's Queen's side may include Marty Clarke as he attempts to get back to inter-county pace ahead of his expected return to the Down squad.

Derry boss Barton has named Slaughtneil brothers Chrissy and Karl McKaigue in a strong Oak Leaf line-up which also includes Dermot McBride, James Kielt, Emmett McGuckin and Ryan Bell for the game against Antrim.

The Saffrons could include Michael McCann following his decision to return to the Antrim fold.

Antrim now have joint managers with last season's boss Frank Fitzsimons now working alongside Gearoid Adams and former world boxing champion Brian Magee operating as fitness coach.

New Down boss Burns is still waiting on Benny Coulter and Dan Gordon to rejoin the county panel while the Mournemen will also be without injured backs Luke Howard and Benny McArdle.

Donegal under-strength against Down

Donegal boss Rory Gallagher has named debutants Mark Anthony McGinley, Jack O'Brien, Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Ciaran Thompson, Stephen McBrearty and Michael Carroll for their opener against Down.

However, the side includes regulars Paddy McGrath, Martin O'Reilly, Frank McGlynn, Leo McLoone and Odhran MacNiallais.

Cavan boss Terry Hyland has handed debutants to Kingscourt player Padraig Faulkner plus Ballymachugh's Liam Buchanan and Ballinagh's Thomas Moore for their game against Armagh.

David Givney and goalkeeper Alan O'Mara also return to the Cavan line-up.

Armagh will be under-strength at Crossmaglen with the local club's contingent unavailable because of the upcoming All-Ireland Club semi-final and several other regulars also missing.

Monaghan boss Malachy O'Rourke is also expected to name a largely inexperienced line-up with Darren Hughes currently on honeymoon and several other regulars also rested.

Farney stars Rory Beggan and Ryan McAnespie are likely to play at Clones but for the university side.

The Jordanstown outfit will be without injured Kieran Hughes and Paddy McBrearty.

Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup fixtures - all 14:00 GMT

Section A

Derry v Antrim, Owenbeg

Tyrone v Queen's, Healy Park

Section B

Donegal v Down, MacCumhaill Park

Fermanagh P-P St Mary's College, Brewster Park

Section C

Armagh v Cavan, Crossmaglen

Monaghan v Ulster University, St Tiernach's Park


Tyrone: N Morgan; A McCrory, P Hampsey, HP McGeary; B Tierney, C Clarke, K McGeary; H Og Conlon, R Donnelly; C McShane, P Harte, N Sludden; M Bradley, R O'Neill, L Brennan.

Derry: E McNicholl; K McKaigue, D McBride, J Morgan; L McGoldrick, C McKaigue, D Heavron; Emmett Bradley, C McAtamney; C McFaul, J Kielt, E Lynn; E McGuckin, R Bell, S Heavron.

Donegal: M McGinley; J O'Brien, E Doherty, P McGrath; M O'Reily, C Ward, E Gallagher; H McFadden, C Thompson; M O'Carroll, F McGlynn, S McBrearty; O MacNiallais, L McLoone, E McHugh.

Cavan: A O'Mara; J Hayes, K Brady, P Faulkner; C Brady, N Murray, D McVeety; B Shankey, L Buchanan; C Conroy, N McDermott, C Mackey; D Givney, T Moore, M Reilly.