Tyrone name four debutants for league opener against Cavan

Tyrone's Lee Brennan has impressed throughout the McKenna Cup campaign
Tyrone's Lee Brennan has impressed throughout the McKenna Cup campaign
Football League BBC Radio Ulster MW coverage
Saturday: Down v Donegal, live on BBC Radio Ulster MW and website from 18:45 GMT
Sunday: Coverage of all Sunday's games from 13:30 GMT

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named four Football League debutants in his starting side for Sunday's Division Two opener against Cavan at Healy Park.

Mickey O'Neill, Niall Sludden, Conor Meyler and Lee Brennan are all chosen.

The inclusion of O'Neill and Sludden are two of seven changes from the team which beat Derry after extra-time in last Saturday's Dr McKenna Cup final.

Aidan McCrory, Rory Brennan, Peter Harte, Conor Meyler and Connor McAliskey return to the side.

With Mickey O'Neill named in goals, Niall Morgan is named on a replacements bench which includes Sean Cavanagh, Mark Bradley, Conor Clarke and Ronan McNamee.

Cavan manager Terry Hyland hands league debuts to goalkeeper Raymond Galligan, Padraig Faulkner, Ciaran Brady and Conor Moynagh while Eugene Keating is named at full-forward after rejoining the county panely.

Derry v Fermanagh

Fermanagh boss Peter McGrath has named an experienced side for their Division 2 opener against Derry at Celtic Park.

The starting line-up contains no Football League debutants although there are six changes from the 15 which took to the field against Dublin in last summer's All-Ireland quarter-final.

Christopher Snow replaces Thomas Treacy in goals with Aidan Breen and Che Cullen taking over from Martin O'Brien and Niall Cassidy in the full-back line.

Damian Kelly replaces Ryan McCluskey in the half-backs Conall Jones taking over from Richard O'Callaghan in midfield and Ciaran Flaherty in for Ryan Jones in the half-forward line.

Derry will be without Enda Lynn following his ankle break in last Saturday's Dr McKenna Cup final defeat by Tyrone while Emmett McGuckin and Dermot McBride are also missing because of injury.

The McKaigue brothers Karl and Chrissy are both named in the full-back line while Emmett Forrester, Emmett Bradley, Conor Kearns and Conor McAtamney are also included.

The throw-in time for the Celtic Park contest has been put back to 14:15 GMT.

Meath v Armagh

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney
Kieran McGeeney's Armagh face O'Byrne Cup winners Meath at Navan on Sunday

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney has named three league debutants for Sunday's game game against Meath in Navan.

Ruairi McCaughey and Shea Heffron are named in defence with the other newcomer Niall Grimley selected at midfield.

The Armagh side has a stronger look than during the recent McKenna Cup campaign with Charlie Vernon, Brendan Donaghy, Aidan Forker, Aaron Findon, Stefan Campbell, Miceal McKenna and Gavin McParland all included.

Kevin Dyas and Ethan Rafferty are named in the substitutes but those unavailable include Ciaran McKeever and Rory Grugan.

Meath, who are still managed by Mick O'Dowd, go into the contest boosted by their victory in the O'Byrne Cup final last weekend.

Half-backs Darragh Smyth and Cathal Finn will make their league debuts for the Royals while Conor McGill, Brian Power and Bryan McMahon are drafted in after missing the O'Byrne Cup decider.


Tyrone: M O'Neill, A McCrory, J McMahon, C McCarron, N Sludden, R Brennan, T McCann, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, C McShane, P Harte, C Meyler, L Brennan, C McAliskey, R O'Neill. Subs: N Morgan, M Bradley, S Cavanagh, C Clarke, P Hampsey, HP McGeary, K McGeary, C McCann, R McNamee, P McNulty, B Tierney.

Cavan: R Galligan; P Faulkner, K Clarke, K Brady; C Brady, C Moynagh, F Flanagan; D Givney, G McKiernan; M Reilly, N McDermott, D McVeety; C Mackey, E Keating, J Brady.

Derry: T Mallon; K McKaigue, C McKaigue, C Mullan, N Forester, G McKinless, C McFaul, E Bradley, C McAtamney, C Kearns, J Kielt, B Heron, D Heavron, C O'Boyle, R Bell.

Fermanagh: C Snow; M Jones, A Breen, C Cullen; D McCusker, J McMahon, D Kelly; E Donnelly, C Jones; B Mulrone, R Corrigan, P McCusker; C Flaherty, Sean Quigley, T Corrigan.

Meath: P O'Rourke; D Keogan, C McGill, M Burke; D Smyth, P Harnan, C Finn; H Rooney, B Power; G Reilly, C O'Sullivan, A Tormey; B McMahon, M Newman, D Lenihan.

Armagh: M McNeice; R McCaughey, C Vernon, M Shields; S Heffron, B Donaghy, A Forker; A Findon, N Grimley; S Campbell, M McKenna, S Forker; G McParland, C O'Hanlon, E McVerry. Subs: P Morrison, S Connell, N McConville, S Sheridan, C Watters, J Hall, J McElroy, E Rafferty, A McKay, O MacIomhair, K Dyas.


Saturday - 19:00 GMT

Division 1

Down v Donegal, Pairc Esler

Dublin v Kerry, Croke Park

Sunday - 14:00 GMT unless stated

Division 1

Cork v Mayo, Pairc Ui Rinn

Roscommon v Monaghan, Kiltoom

Division 2

Derry v Fermanagh, Celtic Park, 14:15

Meath v Armagh, Pairc Tailteann

Tyrone v Cavan, Healy Park

Laois v Galway, Portlaoise

Division 3

Clare v Sligo, Miltown Malbay

Limerick v Tipperary, Kilmallock

Offaly v Longford, Tullamore

Westmeath v Kildare, Mullingar

Division 4

Louth v London, Gaelic Grounds, 13:00

Carlow v Antrim, Dr Cullen Park

Wexford v Leitrim, Bellefield

Wicklow v Waterford, Aughrim

Top Stories