Football League Division 1: Monaghan snatch win in Roscommon

Monaghan's Thomas Kerr battles with Roscommon's David Murray at Kiltoom
Thomas Kerr hit two crucial second-half points for Monaghan at Kiltoom

Conor McManus' late goal helped seal Monaghan's 2-10 to 1-9 opening Division 1 win over Roscommon as the Farney men fought back from seven points down.

Ciarain Murtagh's penalty put Roscommon 1-4 to 0-1 up and that was increased to 1-6 to 0-2 after half-time.

But a Dermot Malone goal gave Monaghan hope as they began to use the wind.

The Farney men levelled the contest on 62 minutes and while Roscommon moved ahead again, Fermanagh hit a closing 1-2 including McManus' injury-time goal.

Roscommon will rue the black carding of Murtagh which came shortly after his 27th-minute goal.

Murtagh notched 1-2 of Roscommon's opening 1-4 including his 27th-minute penalty after he had been hauled down by Drew Wylie, who was black carded for the the challenge.

However, Murtagh was then black carded himself before the break for a tackle on Dessie Mone.

Leading 1-5 to 0-2 after playing with a first-half wind advantage, Senan Kilbride tagged on a further Roscommon point after the restart but Monaghan were back in the game moments later as Dermot Malone struck a goal.

Two Thomas Kerr points helped Monaghan cut Roscommon's lead to 1-7 to 1-5 by the 50th minute and after Fintan Cregg's replied for the home side, points from Daniel McKenna, keeper Rory Beggan and Neil McAdam levelled the contest in the 62nd minute.

Cregg edged Roscommon ahead again with a minute of normal time left but Malone levelled immediately and McManus' injury-time goal broke the home team's resistance as McKenna tagged on another Monaghan point despite McAdam's dismissal seconds earlier.



Division 1

Down 0-07 3-15 Donegal

Dublin 2-14 0-14 Kerry


Division 1

Cork 1-18 0-12 Mayo

Roscommon 1-09 2-10 Monaghan

Division 2

Derry 3-13 1-10 Fermanagh

Meath 1-10 0-08 Armagh

Tyrone 0-10 0-08 Cavan

Laois 1-10 3-12 Galway

Division 3

Clare 1-11 0-07 Sligo

Limerick 1-12 2-09 Tipperary

Offaly 0-12 0-10 Longford

Westmeath 0-11 2-09 Kildare

Division 4

Louth 2-09 0-09 London

Carlow 0-10 1-12 Antrim

Wexford 0-14 1-10 Leitrim

Wicklow 0-13 1-08 Waterford