Football League: Armagh make one change for Laois encounter

Aaron Findon replaces Brendan Donaghy in the Armagh midfield
Aaron Findon replaces Brendan Donaghy in the Armagh midfield
Football League BBC Radio Ulster MW coverage
Saturday: Cavan v Derry and Armagh v Laois, live on BBC Radio Ulster MW & website from 18:45 GMT
Sunday: Coverage of all Sunday's games involving Ulster counties from 13:30 GMT

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney has made one change to his team for Saturday's Division Two game against Laois at the Athletic Grounds.

Aaron Findon, who made a substitute appearance in Sunday's 1-10 to 0-8 defeat to Meath, comes in at midfield for Brendan Donaghy.

Ethan Rafferty will partner Findon in midfield.

Ruairi McCaughey and Shea Heffron have kept their places in defence after making their league debuts in Navan.

Laois were well beaten at home 3-12 to 1-10 by Galway in their opener last weekend and they will again be without injured Ross Munnelly and Colm Begley in Armagh.

Also in Division 2 on Saturday evening, Cavan face Derry in an Ulster derby at Breffni Park.

Derry struggled in the first half against Fermanagh last Sunday before going on to take a flattering 3-13 to 1-10 win while Cavan were somewhat unlucky to lose 0-10 to 0-8 against Tyrone in Omagh.

Cavan probably need a win to maintain any hopes of staying in contention for a promotion place.

Derry make four changes from last weekend's game with Eoin McNicholl replacing Thomas Mallon in goals while Mark Craig, Mark Lynch, and Christopher Bradley take over from Neil Forrester, Conor McAtamney and Conor Kearns.

The Derry side also has several positional switches.

Cavan boss Terry Hyland makes two changes from the Tyrone defeat with Tomas Corr and Paul O'Connor replacing Niall McDermott and Jack Brady.

Armagh: M McNeice, S Heffron, C Vernon, R McCaughley, S Forker, A Forker (capt), M Shields, A Findon, E Rafferty, S Campbell, M McKenna, S Sheridan, C Watters, C O'Hanlon, G McParland.

Cavan: R Galligan; P Faulkner, K Clarke, K Brady; C Brady, C Moynagh, F Flanagan; T Corr, G McKiernan, M Reilly, D Givney, D McVeety; C Mackey, E Keating, P O'Connor.

Derry: E McNicholl; K McKaigue, C McKaigue, C Mullan; G McKinless, M Craig, D Heavron; E Bradley, M Lynch; B Heron, C McFaul, C Bradley; C O'Boyle, R Bell, J Kielt. Subs: T Mallon, R Ferris, O Duffy, N Forrester, J Morgan, C McAtamney, S Heavron, E McGuckin, N Loughlin, C Kearns, D McKinless.


Saturday - 19:00 GMT unless stated

Division 1

Mayo v Dublin, Castlebar

Division 2

Armagh v Laois, Athletic Grounds

Cavan v Derry, Breffni Park

Division 4

London v Carlow, Ruislip, 13:00

Sunday - 14:00

Division 1

Donegal v Cork, Ballyshannon

Kerry v Roscommon, Fitzgerald Park

Monaghan v Down, Clones

Division 2

Fermanagh v Meath, Brewster Park

Galway v Tyrone, Pearse Stadium

Division 3

Kildare v Offaly, Newbridge

Longford v Limerick, Pearse Park

Sligo v Westmeath, Markievicz Park

Tipperary v Clare, Sean Treacy Park

Division 4

Antrim v Wexford, Corrigan Park

Leitrim v Wicklow, Carrick-on-Shannon

Waterford v Louth, Carriganore

Top Stories