Football League Division One: Donegal 2-14 1-7 Cork

Cork's Ian Maguire tries to keep pace with Donegal's Eoin McHugh
Donegal maintained their winning start to their Division One campaign

Donegal continued their impressive start to Division One of the Football League as they earned a 2-14 to 1-7 win over a woeful Cork at Ballyshannon.

Martin O'Reilly's goal helped Donegal take an early 1-4 to 0-0 advantage.

Donal Og Hodnett's goal contributed to Cork reducing the margin to a point but two Odhran MacNiallais points helped Donegal lead by five at half-time.

MacNiallais's goal extended Donegal's lead to 2-13 to 1-3 as Rory Gallagher's sided backed up their win over Down.

Midfielder MacNiallais was one of numerous impressive performers for Donegal as the home team's scores were spread around, with regular scoring talisman Michael Murphy restricted to a single point at Father Tierney Park.

As Donegal were able to run through Cork in the early stages, points from Paddy McBrearty, Ciaran Thompson and Murphy put them three ahead before O'Reilly netted in the 14th minute after his clever exchange of passes with the excellent Eoin McHugh.

Cork fought back with an unanswered 1-3 to cut the margin to a point as Hodnett netted after Peter Kelleher had beaten Eamon McGee in an aerial duel.

Kelleher was winning his battle with McGee at that stage but MacNiallais' superb long-range point started a run of five straight Donegal points before the break with Anthony Thompson and McBrearty among the scorers.

The game was put to bed in the third quarter as Donegal hit a further unanswered 1-4, with MacNiallais netting in the 54th minute.

That goal extended Donegal's lead to 2-13 to 1-3 and while Cork hit four of the last five scores, it was still a rather chastening afternoon for the Rebels after their impressive win over Mayo last weekend.



Division 1

Mayo 0-07 0-09 Dublin

Division 2

Armagh 0-15 1-13 Laois

Cavan 1-11 1-12 Derry

Division 4

London 1-11 4-04 Carlow


Division 1

Donegal 2-14 1-07 Cork

Kerry 1-10 0-14 Roscommon

Monaghan 0-13 0-11 Down

Division 2

Fermanagh 0-10 0-06 Meath

Galway 1-09 1-11 Tyrone

Division 3

Kildare 1-12 1-08 Offaly

Longford 0-13 1-08 Limerick

Sligo 1-11 1-10 Westmeath

Tipperary 2-07 1-07 Clare

Division 4

Antrim 1-08 0-07 Wexford

Leitrim 1-06 0-10 Wicklow, Carrick-on-Shannon

Waterford 1-09 1-10 Louth

Top Stories