MacRory Cup: St Paul's Bessbrook to face St Pat's Maghera in decider

Conor Glass
Conor Glass captained the Derry side which won the 2015 Ulster Minor Championship

St Paul's Bessbrook set up a MacRory Cup Final against St Pat's Maghera on St Patrick's Day by beating St Ronan's Lurgan 1-17 to 2-6 on Saturday.

Two Eunan Walsh goals helped St Ronan's lead 2-4 to 0-8 at half-time but an Aaron Boyle fisted goal contributed to St Paul's taking control.

Maghera have the chance to win a third title in four years after they beat St Pat's Dungannon 2-10 to 1-11 on Friday.

Conor Glass and Shane McGuigan scored Maghera's first-half goals.

Academy of Dungannon made a great start and scored 1-3 in the first 11 minutes, Cormac O'Hagan netting a penalty after he was fouled by Patrick Turner.

Glass and McGuigan scored 1-1 and 1-3 respectively to help St Pat's to a 2-4 to 1-6 interval lead.

St Pat's, winners in 2013 and 2014, went on to secure a two-point victory.

They can thank keeper Sean O Caiside who made a great late save to deny Dungannon captain Liam Rafferty a crucial goal.

There were ugly scenes at the end of the game in Loup when players from both teams got involved in fighting.

Top Stories