Football League: Tyrone unchanged for Meath game as promotion beckons

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte
Mickey Harte's Tyrone could secure promotion if they defeat Meath on Sunday
Allianz Football League
Coverage: Live on BBC Radio Ulster Medium and the BBC Sport website
Dates: Saturday, 12 March from 18:45-21:00 GMT, Sunday 13 March from 13:45

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team for Sunday's Football League Division Two game against Meath in Navan.

Harte has kept faith with the side which impressively defeated Derry 2-15 to 0-12 last weekend.

That win maintained Tyrone's 100% record and victory this weekend could be enough to secure a return to Division One for the Red Hands.

Rory Brennan, Kieran McGeary and Richard Donnelly remain in the side.

Experienced duo Sean Cavanagh and Peter Harte are named in the central attacking roles.

The Red Hand bench includes Mark Bradley, Darren McCurry and Justin McMahon.

Derry manager Damian Barton has reacted to his team's defeat in Omagh by making four changes for Sunday's must-win game against Laois in Portlaoise.

With Barton again rotating the goalkeeping role, Thomas Mallon returns between the posts in place of Eoin McNicholl.

Armagh captain Ciaran McKeever
Ciaran McKeever will make his first appearance of the season for Armagh against Galway

With Mark Craig dropping out of the half-back line, Daniel Heavron switches from the attack to the number seven jersey.

With Ryan Bell and James Kielt dropping to the substitutes, Christopher Bradley, Benny Heron and Shane Heavron are drafted into the attack.

After winning their opening two games, Derry have been well beaten by Galway and Tyrone in their last games and the Oak Leafers probably need a win in Portlaoise to keep any promotion hopes alive.

Another defeat could drop Derry into the Division Two relegation mix.

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney has made two changes from last weekend's humiliating 3-18 to 0-10 defeat by Cavan for Sunday's vital game against Galway at the Athletic Grounds.

Ciaran McKeever's inclusion for his first league game of the season after injury sees Shea Heffron switching to corner-back to the exclusion of Andy Mallon while Ethan Rafferty takes over from Niall Grimley.

The sides shows several position switches with Stefan Campbell moving to right half-forward and Tony Kernan named at left full-forward.

Armagh need a win to ease their relegation worries after accumulating only two points from their opening four games.

Both Cavan and Fermanagh are unchanged for Saturday's Division Two meeting at Brewster Park, with Terry Hyland and Peter McGrath keeping faith with the line-ups that earned impressive wins over Armagh and Laois last weekend.

Those wins moved both sides on to four league points the victors in Enniskillen will move into genuine promotion contention.

Kevin McKernan battles with Dublin's Paul Flynn in the 2011 Football League game
Kevin McKernan returns for struggling Down against table toppers Dublin

Monaghan manager Malachy O'Rourke has named an unchanged team for Sunday's Division 1 game away to Cork.

The side has a number of positional switches including Karl O'Connell's move to midfield and Neil McAdam's dropping back to the half-back line.

Down will be expected to edge closer to relegation from Division 1 when they face table toppers and All-Ireland champions Dublin at Newry on Saturday night.

The Mourne County have lost all four of their games so far while Dublin, in contrast, have a 100% record.

Kevin McKernan returns for Down after the birth of his first child ruled him out of the hammering by Kerry while another change sees Darren O'Hagan replacing Gerard Collins.

In this weekend's other Division One game, Donegal face a Roscommon team who have also won three of their opening four games.

In Division Four, table toppers Antrim will aim to continue their 100% record but the Saffrons may need to raise their game from the narrow win over London to avoid slipping up against Waterford.

The Saffrons only defeated Waterford by two points in last year's league and the Deise outfit did beat Carlow away two weeks ago.

Tyrone: N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; B Tierney, R Brennan, T McCann; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; K McGeary, P Harte, R Donnelly; C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O'Neill. Subs: M O'Neill, M Bradley, P Hampsey, C McCann, D McCurry, HP McGeary, Justin McMahon, P McNulty, C Meyler, J Monroe, N Sludden.

Derry: T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, K McKaigue; G McKinless, B Rogers, D Heavron; N Holly, Emmet Bradley; C McFaul, C Bradley, B Heron; S Heavron, E McGuckin, SL McGoldrick. Subs: E McNicholl, R Ferris, C Mullan, N Forester, J Kielt, R Bell, C Murphy, C McAtamney, C O'Boyle, D McKinless, M Lynch.

Armagh: M McNeice; S Connell, C Vernon, S Heffon; M Shields, C McKeever (capt), S Sheridan; A Findon, E Rafferty; S Campbell, M McKenna, A Forker; C Watters, C O'Hanlon, T Kernan. Subs: P Morrison, J McElroy, N McConville, M Murray, S Forker, B Donaghy, J Hall, G McParland, R Grugan, R McCaughley, N Grimley.

Fermanagh: C Snow; M Jones, C Cullen, N Cassidy; P Rehill, J McMahon, A Breen; E Donnelly, R O'Callaghan; B Mulrone, R Corrigan, D McCusker; P McCusker, R Jones, T Corrigan.

Cavan: R Galligan; P Faulkner, K Clarke, J McLoughlin; C Brady, C Moynagh, K Brady; T Corr, L Buchanan; D McVeety, G McKiernan, M Reilly; D Givney, M Argue, S Johnson.

Monaghan: R Beggan; C Walshe, D Wylie, R Wylie; K Duffy, F Kelly, K O'Connell; N McAdam, D Hughes; S Carey, D Malone, T Kerr; O Duffy, D McKenna, C McManus. Subs: M Keogh, C Boyle, P McKenna, D Mone, M Thornton, G Doogan, P Keenan, R McAnespie, C McCarthy, B McGinn, F McGeogh.

Down: M Cunningham; R Boyle, G McGovern, D O'Hagan; J Flynn, A Carr, D O'Hanlon; P Turley, M McKay; C Maginn, M Poland, K McKernan; C McGovern, C Harrison, B O'Hagan.


Saturday - 19:00 GMT

Division One

Down v Dublin, Pairc Esler

Division Two

Fermanagh v Cavan, Brewster Park

Division Three

Limerick v Westmeath, Gaelic Grouinds


Division One

Cork v Monaghan, Pairc Un Rinn, 14:00

Mayo v Kerry, McHale Park, 14:30

Donegal v Roscommon, Letterkenny, 15:00

Division Two

Meath v Tyrone, Navan, 14:00

Laois v Derry, Portlaoise, 14:00

Armagh v Galway, Athletic Grounds, 14:30

Division Three

Longford v Tipperary, Pearse Park, 14:00

Kildare v Sligo, Newbridge, 14:00

Offaly v Clare, Tullamore, 14:00

Division Four

London v Leitrim, 13:00

Carlow v Louth, Dr Cullen Park, 14:00

Antrim v Waterford, Corrigan Park, 14:00

Wexford v Wicklow, Wexford Park, 14:45