Dates set for International Rules series in 2017

Ireland beat Australia in Dublin in November 2015

The GAA has confirmed the return of the two-match format for the International Rules series between Ireland and Australia on 11 and 18 November, 2017.

Australia will host the games which are played under a compromise of Gaelic football and Aussie Rules regulations.

In 2014 there was a one-off Test in Perth and in 2015 a single fixture was staged at Croke Park in Dublin.

The venues for next year's matches in Australia have yet to be decided and Ireland will host two games in 2019.

International Rules facts
The first series, involving three matches, took place in Ireland in 1984The series was scrapped in 1990 after poor attendances in Australia but resumed eight years later
The trophy is named in honour of young Irish player Cormac McAnallen who died suddenly in March 2004Ireland are the holders having beaten Australia 56-52 in the one-off match in November 2015

In the two-match series, the aggregate scores determine the overall winners of the Cormac McAnallen Trophy.

Former Armagh boss Joe Kernan will continue as manager of the Ireland team for the matches on 11 and 18 November, 2017.

"We believe the two-game series is a logical development after the success of the last two single games series, given the distances involved and the potential to generate even more momentum around the games," said GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail.

"We look forward to renewing rivalries with the best the AFL has to offer."

The GAA has also announced that, following trials in colleges games, the 'mark' will be introduced to Gaelic football in 2017.

Top Stories